Best choice for Cinema 4D box

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by beto2k7, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #1
    What is the best choice for a c4d render box? single processor with higher clocks and just 4 ram slots or lower processor clocks but more cores and 8 ram slots?
     
  2. MacFanJeff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    IL, USA
    #2
    Your post was not very detailed, but if you are just going to use this as a "render box" and make it part of a render farm, then I would opt for more cores and as much RAM as you can.

    I am a professional 3D art creator myself and have a render farm setup with an older 2008 Mac Pro and 10GB of RAM that is in the chain. The more cores and memory is the best and usually shows in benchmarks conducted by 3D Magazine, Maxon, etc. What you can do is download their benchmarks at their web site and test once you have it setup. If it does not perform as you thought then you should be able to return or exchange it. However, I think this type of system will be ok so long as it is a part of the render farm.

    If you are asking about a primary development system and not one that is a render node, then obviously you will need much better specs than anything here.
     
  3. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #3
    As many cores at as high a clock as you can. 3D rendering loves multiple cores.

    As a rough calculation, I'd just take the cores multiplied by the clocks and use that to compare, as 3D rendering can get you pretty close to that performance.
     
  4. beto2k7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #4
    Thank you very much for your responses. What is going on is that here in my country it is election year and we have been contacted by one of the parties to take care of the entire ad campaign which will include heavy 3D works. Since we would need the horsepower during this election year we are gonna lease the equipment and I just want to find a way to justify the extra expense for a 5-10 Dual Hex Pros over Single Hex Pros with the ram topped up

    It will be the first time for me to work at a such high scale and as well using a render farm. So lots of questions hehe.;)
     
  5. highdefw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    #5
    Max everything as much as you can. A single hex as appose to dual will make a huge difference when deadlines approach...
     
  6. ekwipt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #6
    It looks like all the MacPro's in the cinebench leader board have 12 Cores and Radeon 5870. So that's what i'd buy if you're serious.

    Add a RAID Card and an enclosure and a SSD for your boot Drive, max the Ram to 12Gb or 24Gb and you're good to go.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Atomic101 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #7
    1st cores
    2nd ram
    3rd Graphics card

    ssd's -make very little difference when rendering
     
  8. MacFanJeff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    IL, USA
    #8
    This post is correct. I do professional level 3D art and that is the same thing I would say and any other pros around. You are not using the drives much at all, if any as the rendering should be taking place mainly in your memory and through your networked render nodes in the chain.

    Also, I would advise the development take place either on a closed network with no internet access or one that has been setup to easily turn off internet access. The other choice you need to check is to make sure your packets are setup correct for getting the priority to those systems when rendering so nothing else is in that chain to consume any bandwidth. This can easily be done with router settings and software, you just need to test to see what needs to happen for your specific setup.
     
  9. MacFanJeff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    IL, USA
    #9
    Actually, you can do better if you go with a fully custom Windows 7 64 bit ultimate setup like at the top of the list. The reason is the nVidia cards and "CUDA" cores. I simply can not live without that because of the software I use that takes advantage of them.

    Right now, I have two nVidia 580GTX OC in SLI and the duel 5680 Xeons. I plan to upgrade to the 5690 Xeons and the 590GTX soon.
     
  10. beto2k7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #10
    Thank you all for your nice responses, it's good to know there are people willing to help others here. Yesterday I sat down with my boss and did a 7-second video which included about 3-4 seconds of an animation made with c4d and the rest was after effects post production. The 4 seconds animation took over 21 minutes to render with the Pro in my signature properly saturating the 8 cores so we decided to lease seven 12core x 2.93GHz Mac Pros with 48Gb of RAM each. Should be more than enough for the workload we expect.

    Here is the little video we made
    http://t.co/YyPqLV9

    Again thanks all
     

Share This Page