Best configuration for a high end 2015 iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by vucibatina, Jan 11, 2016.

  1. vucibatina macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    #1
    I'm thinking of buying a new iMac. I need a high end machine and I'm contemplating the best configuration. How much sense would have to max out the options, i.e. the following configuration:

    27-inch iMac with Retina 5K display
    • 4.0GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 4.2GHz
    • 32GB 1867MHz DDR3 SDRAM - four 8GB
    • 512GB Flash Storage
    • AMD Radeon R9 M395X with 4GB video memory
    What I'm looking for is to balance all the components and maximize the performance. Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. Sirmausalot macrumors 6502a

    Sirmausalot

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    #2
    upgrade the ram yourself for a total of 24gb but get a 1tb flash drive if you can afford it. otherwise the 512 is fine
     
  3. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #3
    Makes perfect sense if that's what you need.

    Like mentioned you can upgrade the RAM yourself. You could order it with 16gb (2 x 8gb sticks) and add 16gb yourself to max it out, and save yourself a couple bucks.
     
  4. vucibatina thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    #4
    Thanks to both. I will definitely install RAM myself.

    Does the combination of RAM make difference? The default version comes with 2x4GB. Would adding 1x16GB and 1x8GB be different than having e.g. 4x8GB?
     
  5. Sirmausalot macrumors 6502a

    Sirmausalot

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    #5
    Your best bet is adding 2X8GB sticks to take you to 24 (RAM should be installed in pairs) -- then you can easily jump to 32 later. A 16GB stick is too expensive. However, if you want to save some $$$, just get 2X4GB for a total of 16GB. Unless you are doing some crazy memory intensive stuff, 16GB is more than enough.
     
  6. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #6
    Like mentioned RAM should be installed in pairs (assuming that's still the case). So if you want to max it out you'll need to start with 16gb and add 16gb or be prepared to remove the 8gb it's shipped with and add 32gb.

    Most people really don't need 32gb of RAM and it will make no performance difference having RAM you don't need.
     
  7. iceman42 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #7
    you can max the new iMac to 64 gb of ram not 32 gb
     
  8. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #8
    I didn't know that. Thanks.

    I was just going off what Apple states. I suppose that's a Skylake thing?
     
  9. Algus macrumors regular

    Algus

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Location:
    Arizona
    #9
    Yeah, Apple's published max is 32 GB but third party testing has shown 64 GB to work with no issue. OWC sells a kit if you want all that memory.

    It's ridiculously expensive right now but in a few years I imagine it will be an extremely popular upgrade for people who own this generation of iMacs.
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    Yep, that's a nicely maxed out iMac. I don't know if its a good balance because with apple you have limited options on for BTO. As for the ram, the 27" iMac the ram can be upgraded by the consumer, so as noted above, you can do that yourself.
     
  11. vucibatina thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    #11
    I will most likely add 2x16 GB (OWC) and see from there as I do quite heavy video editing and need good speed for the work
     
  12. terrymaz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    SF Bay Area and Chicago Area
    #12
    Thats what i did for heavy photo work. Stay with the 16 and add later. Put the money towards the 1tb ssd instead. Its blazing fast right now with the little I've had time to use it. Thats with the 16gig only so far. Have fun.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 14, 2016 ---
    Now i just need to delete some RAW photos from my MBP so it speeds up a bit. I only have 8 gig free of the 512. LOL
     
  13. JustMartin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Do you have actual requirements - i.e. what you intend to do with the machine or is it simply that you want something that's fast?
     
  14. petsk macrumors 6502

    petsk

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    #14
    It's plain stupid trying to future proof any Mac unless you really need all the power.

    Saving the money and getting a brand new mac earlier than you would have otherwise is much wiser.
     
  15. garyleecn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    #15
    Also think about the SSD.
    For my casual usage, I don't find much difference between SSD vs fusion. But since I got ~800G photo + music, and I don't want to attch an extra external drive, fusion is definitely a better choice.
    Just evaluate your need on storage.
    Otherwise, the rest are maxed out, nothing to complain about. Unless you want to wait for "target display" support
     
  16. vucibatina thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    #16
    1 TB SSD doesn't make a difference to me - it is not closely enough for my needs and an external drive will be a necessity in any case. Thanks for the RAM info.

    Yes, I do heavy video editing.

    I need all that power.
     

Share This Page