Best Configuration for New Imac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jaybar, Sep 24, 2013.

  1. jaybar, Sep 24, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2013

    jaybar macrumors 6502a

    jaybar

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #1
    Hi

    I will be getting a new 21.5 inch iMac. We mainly do email, internet, word processing, light photo editing, music. I will be replacing an early 2010 iMac.

    Standard drive or fusion drive or flash drive?

    8 or 16GB of Ram.

    Ideally I want to purchase or pick up at the apple store.

    Thanks

    Jay
     
  2. JustMartin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    It depends a little on your refresh cycle. If you're going to keep this one for three-four years like your old one, then I'm guessing that 8 gig would carry you through for that time. The fusion drive does make things faster, I suspect that SSD would be overkill based on your fairly light requirements.
     
  3. WJKramer, Sep 24, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2013

    WJKramer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    #3
    Maxed out. I just ordered mine to replace my 2007 first gen aluminum. Hope to get longer out of this one.

    Edit: I have done a 6GB RAM upgrade and 256GB SSD HD replacement. But it's time to move on. I do video processing and photo work.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Hamburger macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    #4
    I basically do the same as the OP and have just ordered a 21.5" base model with 256GB SSD. Don't have a lot of data, and coming from a 2010 MBA 11" I prefer to stay with SSD rather than getting fusion drive.
    And the price for this configuration has dropped by €200 here in Germany. Nice!
     
  5. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #5
    I would say Fusion Drive and 8GB RAM. Only change I would make if you want to future proof, would be to go to 16GB RAM. Only say that because you can not upgrade RAM at later date in the 21.5. Fusion drive will make it quicker and give you a lot of storage.
     
  6. jaybar thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jaybar

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #6
    Hi

    Apple staff is suggesting the standard configuration of either the 21.5 or 27 will be more than sufficient. Is there any validity to that?

    Thanks

    Jay
     
  7. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #7
    Based off of what you say your use is, I'd say the base model would be sufficient.

    Personally I would go Fusion drive in your case just the 1TB Fusion.

    You'll have to call the Apple Store or go in because they do tend to have some custom iMacs on hand if they are ordered in that configuration enough.

    Like my local store carries the i7 iMac with 1TB Fusion and 680MX in store when online that is a BTO model and doesn't show in stock at the store when it actually is.
     
  8. bp1000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #8
    Just ordered the 27inch

    3.4Ghz
    16GB
    256SSD
    780 4GB GFX
    Trackpad option

    My reason for the SSD is i'm blown away with the speeds and SSD this year is double the speed. 256GB seem to have an advantage over the 128GB which comes in the fusion.

    That said the difference is probably minimal in operation. Any large files i will just put on an external USB 3.0 drive, infact i still have 40GB of space on my 128GB macbook air from 2011. I dont really have the need for large amounts of hard drive space.
     
  9. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
  10. Sanatogen macrumors member

    Sanatogen

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #10
    Is the 16Gb really needed? Salary day is approaching and I'm on the fence if I should buy some more memory. Not that my machine runs slow or anything but I'm thinking it might be good to have just in case.
     
  11. bp1000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #11
    It was £160

    If i bought it from crucial it's £127 for a 16GB kit which is what i will need. Thats a 20% markup from Apple but the actually amount is Tiny in the grand scheme.

    Sure i could sell the 8GB standard kit but to me it's just not worth the hassle, i'd need an apple spec screwbit and i would presumably invalidate the warranty + it's a business machine.

    If i do upgrade ram (which i doubt i'd need more than 16gb) but i'd get a 32GB kit from somewhere perhaps in a year or 2 (might need it then) and it would be out of warranty.
     
  12. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #12
    My 16gb ram kit from Amazon was crucial, mac certified, and was £91. Works perfectly.

    Also got AppleCare from Amazon for £94 as opposed to £140 from apple.

    ----------

    On the 27" you can upgrade the RAM thru a trapdoor in the back. You could get the 16GB crucial kit I have for £91 and add it to the base 8GB, for a total of 24GB.
     
  13. jmgregory1 macrumors 65816

    jmgregory1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago and a few other places around the world
    #13
    Jay, most definitely spring for the Fusion Drive. I have a 21" early 2013 base with Fusion and could not imagine getting a non Fusion hdd based model. Once you have a taste of ssd speed, it's impossible to go back. Been loving my 2011 13" mba, so I knew we had to spend the money on Fusion back when my wife was looking for a work machine to use. I'm lucky enough to get to swap between the mba and the iMac - and I love not having to think twice about installing anything or keeping all photos, videos, etc on the iMac. On my mba, I'm constantly dumping old stuff to keep space open - which isn't a bad thing to do anyway, but having the iMac's 1.128 tb Fusion drive gives me lots of room while allowing the same speed as an all ssd drive (for the most part - and from what I've experienced).
     
  14. bp1000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #14
    Even better thank you I did not know ram was accessible

    Assuming then 4 slots so I could add another 16 gb unless Apple did a dell and installed 4x 4gb !
     
  15. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #15
    8GB from apple is 2x4GB
    16GB from apple is 2x8GB

    There are 4 slots.

    Assuming your £160 mentioned in your post is the price difference between an 8GB model and a 16GB model, i would get the 8GB model and buy a crucial 16GB kit. You then end up with 24GB for ~£70 less than a 16GB machine direct from apple.

    In fact, you could get the 8GB model and 2x16GB Crucial kits, and end up with a 32GB machine for ~£20 more than a 16GB machine from apple :) Could then resell the 8GB, or keep it just in case your machine needs to go in for service.
     
  16. SteelBlueTJ, Sep 24, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2013

    SteelBlueTJ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    I wish they offered an option in the configuration to not be forced to buy the apple keyboard and mouse. I am happy with my Logitech setup and would like to save $100 by having a "none" option for the keyboard and mouse. It's annoying having to waste money on something that I'll never use and just keep it in the box.
     
  17. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #17
    The base model will do just fine. Most people here are enthusiasts that will suggest more than you need.
     
  18. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #18
    Just ordered by 3.5GHz i7 27" to replace my 2011 3.4GHz i7 27" iMac.

    I originally planned to get the 3TB Fusion Drive, but just added a Synology DS413 with 8TB of storage (I have 4x4TB HDDs arranged in two 8TB striped sets I mirror using Carbon Copy Cloner) so I decided to get the 256GB SSD since that is what is in my current iMac and it's plenty. That way I can keep my current 2TB Time Capsule (since I run wired, don't need an 802.1ac access point yet) and save $300 over the new 3TB model.

    Also went with 16GB of RAM from Apple since 3rd party is $170 and this way I can use the 18 months financing from Apple/Barclays.
     
  19. kumquat macrumors regular

    kumquat

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #19
    Are you joking? You can choose none, just don't click on any of the circles. Wtf?
     
  20. blanka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #20
    Get a mini, preferably the 2.3 quad, and a bigger screen, like a 24 inch 1920x1200 ips one. The 21 is cramped IMO.
    You can get the base model and fix the RAM and SSD for a low price yourself.
    Mini 2.3 quad 799
    Dell U2412M 309 (IPS 1920x1200)
    16GB RAM 120
    256Gb SSD Samsung 840 EVO 179
    Cable for extra drive 30
    Total 1430$
    To have a little better performing iMac (CPU wise), you pay $2099
    All other options are outperformed by the solution I showed here, yet you will never have 1.25Gb with 250GB of SSD and not have a nice large screen with better warranty and better ergonomics, and a much lower total cost of ownership as the Mini's go down less in value.
    You can even slide the Mini in your pocket and work somewhere else with it.
     
  21. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #21
    "None" is not an option for the iMac. And since it is a "radio button" selection, at least one selection must be made.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. toddzrx macrumors 6502a

    toddzrx

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #22
    Given what you're using the machine for, why bother replacing what you already have? Just spring for a new SSD and drop it in the 2010 iMac. Way cheaper and the machine will be plenty capable.
     
  23. Santabean2000 macrumors 68000

    Santabean2000

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #23
    Apple staff want to make a quick sale.

    SSD speed should be had by everyone. Def spring for the SSD (or Fusion if you need extra space).

    Other baseline specs are good to go.
     
  24. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #24
    Good catch! Their 2010 iMac is perfectly suitable for what they are doing. Basically the same things my wife does just fine on here 24" 2008 model base iMac. Maybe the slender design of the new models caught the OP's eyes?
     
  25. toddzrx macrumors 6502a

    toddzrx

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #25
    That's what I'd guess. For me personally, I'm old enough to be over Shiny New Thing Syndrome. I in fact have a 2010 iMac that I performed SSD surgery on. Works like a champ and I have no reason to replace it. I'm hoping it lasts until Retina screens become standard issue on the Mac lineup like it pretty much has on all the iToys. I'm thinking 2015 or 16.
     

Share This Page