best configuration for Premiere or Avid?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ludykriz, Mar 31, 2016.

  1. ludykriz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    #1
    I currently have 2008 8 core.. 16GB Ram, Solid State and AMD 7970... My premiere is not running at its smoothest like FCP or even FC X.. anything I can do to upgrade or should i go after 12 core, 2010-2012 model? i
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    2008 and 7970, sounds a pretty bad combination, you may suffer from the strange GPU performance hit.
     
  3. nigelbb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #3
    You need a card that supports CUDA acceleration for best Premiere performance. The cheap & cheerful option if you can live without a boot screen is a used GTX 570. It's more expensive but you can flash a used GTX 680 yourself for a boot screen & support for up to four monitors & 4K support.
     
  4. rawweb, Apr 1, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2016

    rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #4
    That just isn't true anymore, hasn't been for a number of years. OpenCL is fully supported and works great in Premiere (since CS6). In fact, the only thing Adobe needs CUDA for these days is Ray Tracing in AE, which I've never used. From my real world experience, you will experience no difference between CUDA and OpenCL in Premiere. OP's 7970 is more than enough, not sure why you think otherwise. I've run un-scientific tests between my R9 280X (as some say, rebadged 7970) and GTX 770 and have seen similar results. See below. Can't speak to AVID though.

    Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 9.04.15 AM.png

    (test on same piece of footage in a 3.33 12c 5,1)

    GTX 770 (MVC Flashed 4GB)

    Premiere Pro CUDA:

    Warp Stabilize- 1:12
    Export- 3:44


    FCPX:

    Stabilize- :6
    Export- 1:44


    R9 280X (DIY Flash, 3GB)

    Premiere Pro OpenCL:

    Warp Stabilize: 1:11
    Export: 3:41


    FCPX

    Stabilize- :5
    Export- 1:48
     
  5. orph macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    which version of premier cs/5/6/cc? are you using and have you been watching activity monitor, a lost of the time a lack of smoothness is slow media that your playing files from.
    Ie the internal drive your media is on is starting to get full or fragmented.
    do you have a dedicated cache drive?

    +rawweb is correct
    cuda dose a lot less than then hype around it makes you think, a lost less.
    & even in CS6 openCL is a thing http://blogs.adobe.com/premierepro/2012/05/opencl-and-premiere-pro-cs6.html
    (wow FCPX is fast in your tests, im going to have to try the demo agen been ages miss read the stabilize numbers as smily faces as the numbers where so low saw the :5 as a :S at first :p)
     
  6. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #6
    I was a bit shocked as well. I've never been able to get used to the trackless editing of FCPX, and the way it handles audio. But it sure does scream on some of that stuff. Granted, you don't get near the control of Pp's Warp Stabilizer, but it sure does go fast if you're in a crunch!
     
  7. orph macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    :V kind of miss FC7's stabilizer relay liked the way it plotted the movement as key frames, used to have fun watching the video jump around with the lines plotted, I relay like a lot of FCPX last time i used it the speed was amazing seeing my gpu use and CPU max out makes me so happy :D never see that in premier.
    premier never seems to hammer my GPU, it seems to float around the 20-60% use mark at most (according to atmonitor, not shore how accurate it is but it dose display much higher GPU use with FCPX last time i tried it)

    i was surprised to see the ATI card and NVIDIA card so even on FCPX speed, keep hearing ati is a openCL king yet there the same speed (within the margin of error id say.

    if you want to see some good info have a look at pugetsystems site, they have some nice articles on cpu use and GPU use in PP & AE
    for example in this one it shows almost no improvment when moving past a GTX650 in PPCS6 https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/Adobe-Premiere-Pro-CS6-GPU-Acceleration-162/

    & this one maps out CPU use in PPcc https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/Adobe-Premiere-Pro-CC-Multi-Core-Performance-698/

    edit
    just had a problem with the interface last time in FCPX, wish there was a 'clasic' mode that looked more like normal :V and less imove thats all it needs a reskin
    and something like a 3 way color corrector and curves without buying plugins or something
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    the 7970 work fine in the 5,1 but there is a power management bug on the 3,1
     

Share This Page