Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Blu101

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 10, 2010
I just got my first ever apple last week. Upgraded the hard drive and I'd like to use the factory 320GB drive as an external for backups. Should be a while until I need more space, so this should work well until mid-late next year.

I have no experience or knowledge whatsoever doing this - I've never backed up before. I know, I know, but in 21 years I've never had a hard drive fail on me (knocks on wood).

In any case, I'm already pretty overwhelmed just learning my new mbp, so I'd like to take recommendations from you guys to ease the burden.

Basically I'm looking for an external enclosure to the 320GB that came with my mbp, which is a Hitachi model, if that makes a difference. I'd like to be able to use my mbp's fastest connection for this, which I'm guessing is the firewire. Other than that, it would be great if the aesthetics matched or complimented the mbp. Oh, and something that has shock/vibration protection.

Thanks!

ps: when I upgraded the hard drive in my mbp, the 320GB original had a negotiated link speed of 1.5Gb/s, but the new one, a 500GB 7k500 also from Hitachi, has a negotiated link speed of 3Gb/s. Can someone briefly tell me what negotiated link speed is and why the difference? Is it related to the 5400RPM vs 7200RPM drives? I saw a thread in these forums a couple of weeks back where people reported both link speeds for 7200RPM drives, so I don't know how these speeds are "negotiated" between drive and computer...:confused: