Best External Hard Drive for the Time Machine

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by sash, Nov 20, 2007.

1. sash macrumors 6502a

sash

Hi,

Kind of hot topic nowadays: which external HDD to buy for the Time Machine...

I've been using for a few years LaCie d2 Triple Interface (200 GB), and the experience has always been just great. But now it's way too small (I've got on my Mac 2 HHD x 500 GB each), so I'm thinking to get the 1 TB LaCie Big Disk Extreme+.

Questions are:

1) Is 1 TB enough for the Time Machine (digital photography, quite big catalogues, photo archives, DBs etc.), or should I go for the bigger options?
    2) Is LaCie Big Disk Extreme+ as good and reliable as LaCie d2 Triple Interface used to be?
    3) Which hard drive brand are they actually using in LaCie Big Disk Extreme+? I believe, in the past it was Seagate, but I'm not entirely sure.

Thanks a lot,
    sash

2. rotlex macrumors 6502a

I know there are many that are Lacie crazy as it seems Mac centric. However, I have never had good luck with them. I recently picked up a WD My Book Pro at my local Apple store, 1TB model just for time machine. It's got USB 2, FW400 and 800, as well as mirroring capabilities if needed. It's been working great since day one, and I think it was a pretty decent buy.

Just my 2 nickels

3. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

sash

Hi rotlex,

BTW, I've bought my first LaCie HDD based on the good reviews here, in this forum... At least, I believe so.

Yes, I've read a few bad reviews on these new products at the Apple Store, thus my doubts. But I have two of the old ones, and they're just good. Never had any problem at all.

Maybe they've changed the HDD, hence the issues (if any)?

Thank you,
    sash

4. rotlex macrumors 6502a