Best External SDD Enclosure - ?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by C158, Feb 5, 2015.

  1. C158 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    #1
    Hello,

    I would like to get an external SSD for high speed datat transfer from my imac. I need to no more than 2 or 3 trays as I only need 2 or 3TB. I would like to connect via Thunderbolt 1 or 2.

    What are the best options?

    Thanks
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    I know this doesn't answer your question, but do you really need an SSD for "data transfer"?

    You can speed a LOT of cash for SSD and Thunderbolt, but I'd suggest a 2tb external HDD drive (or "bare drive" in a USB3/SATA docking station) as an alternative that will work just as well...
     
  3. dyt1983, Feb 6, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #3
    edit: To remove personally identifying info not relevant to the conversation.
     
  4. ColdCase, Feb 6, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2015

    ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #4

    USB3 is a kludge and often is a disaster in this application, don't try it with multiple SSDs. Multiple port SATA docking stations are expensive.

    OWC sells a $350 mini 4 bay 2.5inch TB2 enclosure that would be ideal for SSDs.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/Thunderbolt/External-Drive/OWC/ThunderBay-4-mini

    Use disk utility to RAID if you must.

    I have a samsung 850 pro in a OWC multi bay TB enclosure and it flies in comparison to USB3 (with USAP) and eSATA enclosures.

    By the way, I get near the same data rate from two 7200rpm hard drives in a RAID0 set as I do from the single 850 pro.
     
  5. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #5
    The Thunderbay 4 mini is excellent and compact, holding 4 SSDs and keeping them all cool with decent inbuilt fan.

    I have a Thunderbay IV setup with 4 x Toshiba 7200 RPM drives in RAID 0, it flies :)
     

Share This Page