Best format/process to archive raw footage on minidv tapes..

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by pgallett, Jan 5, 2010.

1. pgallett macrumors newbie

I'm trying to find the best process to archive raw minidv footage from tape to external hard drive. I'm selling the video camera and will no longer have a way to play the tapes, so I'd like to preserve the raw footage so I can later edit it or output in some other way when I get time. I'm well aware of the size of raw footage, I'm just not sure of the best process of getting raw video off the camera and onto the hard drive.

I've almost exclusively used the camera for viewing and playback of tapes. I have imovie, but I don't want the saved format to be software specific (maybe there's a way in imovie? I'm a noob with imovie).

thanks for the help

2. mstrze macrumors 68000

FWIW I am importing all of my MiniDV tapes into a 1.5TB drive using iMovie and I am not worrying about being able to read the data in the future. I'm sure there will be something that can translate the file to whatever is the preferred format of the times.

I also plan on migrating the resulting data onto a new drive every couple of years. Magnetic particles just ain't what they used to be. Some of my tapes are 10 years old this year. I probably don't have much time left. ;) (In all seriousness...I will be keeping the original tapes, but their readability will deteriorate over time...as will the oxide particles on the hard drive. At least in this day and age we can essentially make a bit-for-bit copy of something with no degradation by copying one file to another drive. Much better than tape-to-tape backing up of movies in the past.

3. pgallett thread starter macrumors newbie

That's exactly what I'm looking to do, minus the native imovie part ;). Worse case (for me), I think that solution would work, but I'm holding out for the silver bullet for now.

thanks

4. mstrze macrumors 68000