Best format to rip TV Shows from DVD into?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by secretpact, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. secretpact macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #1
    'm using handbrake to rip some of my TV Shows on DVD to my hard drive. I did the entire first disc in the default "Television" preset. This setting is .mkv and H.264. The problem I discovered is that VLC player stutters while playing these files. I don't want to use quicktime either because it doesn't load instantely, it takes a while for the bar to fill up (I know I can start the beginning of the video immediately, but if I want to skip to the end I have to wait a while.)

    So what is the best format/codec to use while ripping TV Shows? I want to maximize quality. Thanks!
     
  2. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #2
    After lots and lots of tweaking this is the best setup so far for DVD-rips. I spent a long time researching and tweaking the "Advanced" section for best results.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Plays perfectly in iTunes.
     
  3. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #3
    CBR 65% is wasteful using newer builds of Handbrake/x264. 59-62% is generally considered transparent.

    Personally, I'd just use the Universal preset and be done with it.
     
  4. secretpact thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #4
    Thanks for the tip. What format do you use? I don't plan on playing my shows in iTunes. I want to use VLC or Quicktime.
     
  5. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #5
    I use the H.264 codec and then I use a .mp4 extension rather than a .m4v. That way when you go to open them it won't default to iTunes, it will open them in Quicktime which plays them fine (same as playing them in iTunes).

    The universal preset doesn't have all of the tweaks to the advanced section. It will still work but it's possible to have a smaller file at higher quality with the right tweaks to to this section rather than using the "Universal" preset. And thanks for the tip on CBR, I'll have to give that a try.
     
  6. spice weasel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #6
    Just click on a m4v file, Get Info, and choose to have all such files open in QT. That way you can keep your files as m4v, which iTunes needs in order to handle the AC3 passthru audio properly. I'd recommend the same thing to the OP, in case he ever decides to use iTunes in the future. In fact, why not just use iTunes? Yeah, it's a resource hog, but it remembers where you left off when viewing your video files.
     
  7. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #7
    I usually do 65 too. I'll try lower. one of the first movies I converted for ATV was the first Harry Potter. There's a scene at the start at night that was very blocky on 62%, so I tried 65% and it was a lot better.
     
  8. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #8
    Oh ok, I never knew that iTunes actually needed .m4v to handle the audio properly. Can I just rename all my .mp4 file extensions to .m4v and be good?
     
  9. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #9
    Do you use those settings above for everything or just TV?
     
  10. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #10
    I only use that preset above for DVD-rips. I have other presets that I made for flash and AVIs.
     
  11. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #11
    Cool, I'll give them a try.
     
  12. secretpact thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #12
    Chase R, I finished a test converting of a video and there are horizontal lines that appear whenever there's motion. Other than that the video is good, but it is a big problem in my opinion.

    Here is an example:

    [​IMG]
    (Look at his hand)
     
  13. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #13
    I love 30 Rock! I just thought I'd let you know. :D
     
  14. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #14
    Is decomb on default?
     
  15. secretpact thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #15
    Actually, I don't know if it was on or off. I will make sure it's on for my next test. Thanks!
     
  16. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #16
    Those lines are because the original source is interlaced. You can get rid of those lines by turning on the de-interlace filter or by setting the de-comb filter to "default". Make sure you check the picture setting before each encode.
     
  17. secretpact thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #17
    Should decomb always be turned on? I notice that the defaults for most of the presets have decomb and deinterlace off.
     
  18. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #18
    You can leave the decomb filter on. It's a selective deinterlacing filter; which means that it only will deinterlace content that is interlaced.
     
  19. secretpact thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #19
    Holy cow! The filesize for one show is 650MB!!
     
  20. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #20
    That's for a 43 minute (1hr) show right? Sounds about right I think. I'm gonna try a show and see what the outcome is real quick.
     
  21. secretpact thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #21
    Let me know what you get, cause it's a half-hour show. :confused:
     
  22. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #22
    My Doctor Who episodes (~45 mins) come out at about 1.2 GB
     
  23. secretpact thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #23
    I just did it with my Mad Men DVD and it looks like the converting has made the video darker. Take a look:

    Original:
    [​IMG]

    Converted:
    [​IMG]

    Anyone know a fix?
     
  24. BertyBoy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #24
    Excuse my ignorance of Handbrake, I still use MTR and MPEG StreamClip.

    Does no-one use the average bit-rate, for TV anyway ? TV Shows can be considered "disposable" so why use a high bitrate (or percentage) to encode ?
    I run my TV shows through at 1100kb/s video 128kb/s audio, sometimes lower for older shows. Sure it's not like my movie rips (at 3000kb/s), but am I really going to watch that episode of CSI again ? or enough to care about the quality ?

    You'd have to be a trekkie to worry about picture quality on all your episodes of TNG.

    No disrespect to anyone, but just wondering.

    Just out of interest, what does the average bit rate come out at if you use 62% ?
     

Share This Page