Best Free App For Cloning My HD?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by FadeToBlack, May 13, 2010.

  1. FadeToBlack macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I'm gonna have to send my MacBook Pro in soon to get the battery replaced and I wanna make an exact copy of my HD, so that I'll just be able to pick up where I left off without having to re-install apps, etc. and I'm wondering what the best free app is for cloning my HD? I know of a few, but I just wanna know which one you guys recommend. I would prefer it to be as easy as possible, too. I'm lazy. :cool:

    Thanks in advance.

    -Sean
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
  3. TheEightball macrumors newbie

    TheEightball

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Location:
    Geneva, Switzerland
    #4
    Best Free App For Cloning My HD?

    One of the best app is already in your computer.
    Diskutility in utility folder.
    Start app
    Select origin volume
    click restore tab
    drag & drop source volume onto source field
    drag & drop destination volume onto destination field
    click restore button
    confirm
    wait
    That's it!
     
  4. FadeToBlack thread starter macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
  5. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    Another vote for Carbon Copy Cloner and its scheduler
    Been using it for years and it has saved me several times
     
  6. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
  7. FadeToBlack thread starter macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #9
    I have a question. When buying an external HD for said backup, would buying the size of my current HD be fine (320GB) or should I buy something with more space...say 500GB?
     
  8. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #10
    Given that you'll still have the drive after your initial purpose is served, and the tiny difference between a 320GB and 500GB drive, it seems like a waste not to get something larger. You can always use it as a TimeMachine backup once the repairs are finished, in which case the extra space will eventually come in handy for older versions. Heck, in some cases the larger drive might be exactly the same price (I put a 500GB drive in my MBP for almost exactly the price of a 320GB, and if you go up to desktop-sized externals, you can get 1TB or more for the same price.)

    An aside, for basic "I want Drive A to be exactly the same as Drive B" stuff, CCC is hard to beat. Other cloners offer more features, but that's the one I always come back to for migrations at work.
     
  9. FadeToBlack thread starter macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #11
    Awesome. Thanks for the reply. Gonna go ahead and get the 500GB.
     

Share This Page