Best Games show off Maxed iMac 5K screen

Discussion in 'iMac' started by chrisfromalbany, Aug 6, 2015.

  1. chrisfromalbany macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #1
    Wondering what currently best game run on iMac 5K show performances. Got SSD, 32 memory, upgraded video card. I see Tomb Raider listed.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  2. brock2621 macrumors 6502a

    brock2621

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #3
    You win sir...
     
  3. Nyy8 macrumors 6502a

    Nyy8

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    I'd install Windows and see if you could get some games running.

    Skyrim would look good, not sure if you could run Ultra 5k.
     
  4. aliensporebomb macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
    #5
    For sheer "wow that looks amazing" X-Plane 10 - get in one of the aircraft and fly to northern minnesota where a lot of forested areas are and set a lot of the settings to maximum or near it and ... I'll take a screenshot and post it here later. It's very cool.

    With the right weather settings it's the closest thing to real flying you can get (so far).

    In Elite Dangerous there's a planet with a saturn like ring system and you can actually zoom right up to it and see the individual rocks that make up the ring system that's pretty cool.
     
  5. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #6
    macrumors doesn't allow you to upload a 5k screenshot. I tried,

    Some of the games in my library have 2880p settings, but are indistinguishable from 1440p.

    fragment.png look, jaggies! (this is a crop)
     
  6. Edan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #7
    I wouldn't get your hopes up running graphic intense games on the rImac (Bootcamp). Because the AMD graphic drives from Bootcamp are old, they don't support new games so you're most likely going to be running games low/medium.
    I've got a rImac, 24gb ram, i7 4ghz, m295x and I'm playing average games on low/medium, if I try to push to high it can't handle it.
     
  7. ApoorvPrem macrumors regular

    ApoorvPrem

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    India
    #8
    That was disappointing. :(
     
  8. ApoorvPrem macrumors regular

    ApoorvPrem

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    India
    #9
    This is company of heroes? And what is your iMac's specs?
     
  9. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #10
    Yes. the first Company of Heroes (mac version) It's from the British/Canadian campaign in Opposing Fronts, which, iirc, adds precipitation effects.
    3.5 Ghz i5, m290x, 24 GB ram.

    Oh. I see now. If you start up the game 5k non scaled mode-- press the option key in the Displays preference Pane, everything becomes really quite sharp. (and unfortunately the minimum framerate, as recorded by the benchmark, dips below 20 fps, which could potentially affect gameplay.
    Maybe a m295x could handle it.

    Screen Shot 6.png

    It's a tight crop to fit into macrumor's size requirements
     
  10. Ledgem macrumors 65816

    Ledgem

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hawaii, USA
    #11
    Screenshots won't really show it off well, because the image will scale and anyone not on a retina screen won't be able to appreciate what you're seeing, either. The screenshots above don't look particularly special to me, and I'd guess it might be because my current screen isn't a retina display. If you take a photo of your screen next to something else so that a comparison between the screen and life can be made then it might get the point across, but most viewers are limited because their screens will prevent them from seeing what you're seeing.
     
  11. aliensporebomb macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
  12. Kirtaner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #13
    ...then install latest AMD drivers from their website?
     
  13. Edan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #14
    Unfortunately it doesn't work like that, Apple configure their own AMD graphic drivers for Bootcamp - You can't install any other driver other than the ones provided by Bootcamp Assistant.
     
  14. LeeTBTS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
  15. ViktorEvil macrumors member

    ViktorEvil

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Location:
    England
    #16
    Really!!!!
     
  16. Edan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #17
    Thanks for sharing that Lee, what system/driver no. are you running this on?
    I'll see if i can get a hold of GTA V to test
     
  17. LeeTBTS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    #18
    The stock boot camp driver from December 2014 (any other driver has issues with the throttling giving you constant stutters on any game) windows 10 Though i had similar performance in 7.

    I find you can run prett much any current gen game in 4k most maxed settings if you know how to set it up.

    Firstly turn off AA! It's simply not neccesary and a massive overheard.

    Generally of you want a huge chunk of frames back then disabling post processing works a treat, again it's a per pixel calculation so the less of those you have the better. I have to say though I preferred gta with them on and still managed 35fps, haven't tried but I reckon 45-50 without pp is possible.

    Motion blur is another one you can do without due to its per pixel calculations (plus I hate it anyway)
     
  18. LeeTBTS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    #19
    You can but its not advised, as I've said in the previous post, you get stuttering.


     
  19. Edan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #20
    That's really interesting, I'm running a clean install of Windows 8.1 with latest Bootcamp m295x, i7 4ghz, 24gb RAM and most games I play (mainly 1440p) can't handle it on high settings, some not even medium. I tried playing Borderland 2 earlier and even that couldn't handle it on high.
    I'll do some looking into it.
     
  20. Dixie Flatline macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    #21
    Edan,

    I've got exactly the same config, and I find it's variable. LeeTBTS is correct that anti-aliasing can make the single biggest difference in performance, but it depends on the game and what AA techniques it uses, since some are far more efficient than others. I've only tried a few games so far, but it seems like older games which use FSAA (full-scene anti-aliasing) are much likelier to have performance issues at 2160p or 1440p if AA is turned on, since FSAA involves rendering the entire screen at a much higher resolution than the display, then downsampling.

    I can play Alien Isolation in 3840x2160 with all settings maxed, including AA set at "SMAA-T2x", and it's not glass-smooth, but it's perfectly playable. If I drop the resolution to 3200x1800, then it is glass-smooth, with barely any visible difference in quality. I can also play Warhammer 40K: Space Marine at full 2160p with all settings maxed (which includes some anti-aliasing), and it's perfectly smooth.

    So the first thing to try is turning off anti-aliasing in a given game, and seeing how much that helps your performance vs. any change in visual quality.
     
  21. Kirtaner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #22
    Windows graphics drivers simply do not work like that. This is a fact.
     
  22. LeeTBTS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    #23
    He's actually right. Although it is possible to install the regular amd driver, it just plainly doesn't work very well due to the nature of the design of this mac.

    The regular windows driver for the 9 series doesn't realise that the card has a differing thermal situation and ends up giving you a very stuttery performance as it constantly throttles itself, leaving you with frame rates that display as 60fps one second and 14 the next.

    So yeah you are correct that there's nothing stopping you installing the driver, but he is right in pointing out that it wouldn't be the right driver and doesn't work properly.
     

Share This Page