Best GMail Push Notification app?

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by legaleye3000, Nov 4, 2009.

1. legaleye3000 macrumors 65816

2. carson44 macrumors member

3. Shark131 macrumors member

Well I think gpush is the best. Unfortunately at this moment apparently they are having issues. But when they fix it, it is flawless.

4. sammich macrumors 601

sammich

5. Uabcar macrumors 6502

I've been using gpush for a few months now and it seems to be working fine for me. I've not noticed any emails where I've not gotten a pop-up notification. There is supposed to be an update soon that will include quiet hours and the option to auto launch the native iPhone mail app.

I've not tried the others so I can't comment on the pro and cons relative to the others.

6. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

I'm not looking to use Exchange for GMail due to not only batt, but some known issues such as "deleting an email on your phone will NOT delete it on your GMail account. It will archive the email."

Anyway, GPush seems to be the most popular but I hear conflicting reports as to how it is working for people.

7. GFSarah macrumors regular

GFSarah

Just adding my $0.02 ...

I got Gpush and LOVED it, too ... at least until a few weeks ago. It really is the greatest thing when it works and it DID work perfectly for me for quite a while. Then one day a few weeks ago it just quit working and my attempts at workarounds come up pointing to server issues as others have said. I really hope they get it back up and running soon because as I said, I loved it. Like you mentioned, I didn't want to set up the exchange account and all that mess (and I like having a separate button for my two different email accounts - setting up as exchange would kill that idea). I checked out other things and decided to just wait until Gpush was released, and when it was working, I never regretted it.