Best iPhone 5 Case for Healthcare Professionals?

Discussion in 'iPhone Accessories' started by Hurley82989, Oct 22, 2012.

1. Hurley82989, Oct 22, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2012

Hurley82989 macrumors member

Hey all, I was wondering if anyone can recommend a durable case that can easily be completely wiped down daily with disinfectant wipes. I work in a hospital based setting and can't tell you how many times my phone has fell out of the front pocket of my scrubs and into vomit/blood. Or having to use my phone before cleaning my hands. I currently have the otterbox defender which is great but the rubbery outside material becomes quite sticky and nasty after being wiped down. I'd prefer something that's a harder plastic on the outside while still retaining drop protection. I had the galaxy s2 before the iphone 5 which had no hardware buttons so I was able to wipe down the front screen protector completely without any fear of damaging hardware. I was wondering if there were similar options with the iphone.

I was looking into the speck candyshell + front screen protector or otterbox commuter + front screen protector and was wondering if you guys had insight into this. I know that these chemicals will damage the oleophobic coating on the front screen so I definitely need some sort of front protection but I'm wondering how people wipe down the home button area. Thanks!

2. SporkLover macrumors 6502

Lifeproof case once it's finally released.

3. Hurley82989 thread starter macrumors member

Hm the lifeproof sounds interesting but the previous version got poor reviews for muffling the microphone. And I hate the idea of having to carry around an extension to use headphones. I'll have to check it out though for sure once it's released.

Any other suggestions?

4. Giuly, Oct 22, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2012

Giuly macrumors 68040

Giuly

If you don't like the Lifeproof, the Otterbox Defender it is. You can also pick colors matching your scrubs. :)