Best Mac for EvE Online - Non Mac Pro desktop

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by 3fingerbrewing, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. 3fingerbrewing macrumors newbie

    3fingerbrewing

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    #1
    Hello,

    I am in the market for my first Mac. I play EvE Online now on my old PC but am looking at getting a Mac.

    What I would like to know is your opinions on which Mac would be best?

    I know I could go with a Mac Pro desktop and be fine but I was looking at either a 27" iMac or MBP.

    Thoughts from any other Eve players out there?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    The iMac will be better - it can have a 5750, which is faster than the 330M found in the MacBook Pro.
     
  3. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

    mobilehaathi

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Anthropocene
    #3
    Honestly, it'll run great on any of the current machines with a discrete video card. I can run it on high settings on the MPB in my sig. The port isn't great, but it works. The only other option is to bootcamp a windows partition.
     
  4. BigYellow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    #4
    I played the trial a while back, and it ran great on my 2008 Mac Pro (2x 2.8GHz quadcore), which was BTO with a Geforce 8800GT, but only 2GB RAM. And I was running the OS X client, not via bootcamp. I'd say they did a pretty damn good job of porting it.
     
  5. ozreth macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #5
    Its one of the least graphically demanding MMO's (or games in general) on the market. Anything will do really.
     
  6. Alx9876 macrumors 6502a

    Alx9876

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    NorCal
    #6
    Go with the iMac i7 or 2.93 ghz with the Ati 5750 card in it.

    Maxed settings for Eve or that new Final Fantasy MMO.
     
  7. Merthyrboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #7
    I play it on my iMac 21.5 inch with 8gb ram and 512mb vram with absolutely no problem and it does look stunning.
     

Share This Page