Best Mac for Graphic design and other work

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Amnak, Jan 8, 2014.

1. Amnak macrumors 6502

Hi all,

I have a 2010 MacBook Pro it's lagging a bit and my Moms MacBook 07 is practically limping :p.

I'm going to hand mine down to her soon ; I need purchasing advice.

Right now I'm in my last semester in college I do some work with Photoshop and Indesign.

I also edit video in iMovie and audio in GarageBand

At all times I'm running iTunes with a 40gb plus library. I know I need some power/space and I don't want to sacrifice too much.

So, for all that what would be the best Mac to get. I'm sure a Mac Pro is overkill

I'm looking at an iMac or another MacBook Pro. Any suggestions ? Do any designers have advice on portability vs screen real estate vs power?

Thanks in advance!

2. dan1eln1el5en macrumors 6502

dan1eln1el5en

any mac...

for what you state you might want SSD (for fast movie editing with reduced read/writes) and plenty of RAM.

Graphics, CPU etc. today can easily handle those tasks.

I think the Macbook Air 13" with the better options would be good and cheaper than jumping on the Pro versions. (which is mostly interesting because of the retina displays, and the macbook 13" without retina seems old compared to the performance of the other SSD based machines)

3. Amnak thread starter macrumors 6502

I probably should have mentioned I have a 15" Pro now so that screen is to hard to adjust too. Are you sure an Air could handle everything I find it hard to believe.

4. talmy macrumors 601

talmy

It's screen real estate you want with GB and iMovie (and also with the Pro apps if you advance to them) so consider a 27" iMac or budget for a large external monitor (the Apple Thunderbolt display is great but costly) if you need an otherwise portable system.