best mac pro money video editing/timing system can buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by kidalive, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. kidalive macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #1
    My company is getting a Mac Pro and money is no hindrance. (Unless you into the 20,000 and up area) Is it better to get one with 4x 256meg video cards or the 1 512 meg card? I need to hook up dual displays and a color timing monitor.

    I'm also looking at the MXO2 Max. And a panasonic or flanders scientific monitor.


    I was looking at this turnkey system..
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...bridge_Eclipse_Mac_Pro_Final.html#accessories

    But the stats aren't maxed out. I'd like the most VRAM (if that's what I need) and RAM as possible (32gb)


    Anyway what's the best configuration possible?
     
  2. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #2
  3. tri3limited macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Multibridge is cool but what is your actual use for the system? Is it going to be a client suite or personal? Are you playing back to a routed system or straight to decks (HDCAM SR??)?

    Personal Guess Based on What You've Told Me;

    Mac Pro -
    Top processor
    16gb RAM (more if you really want)
    ATi 4870 graphics card (just one as Mac OS X can only utilise one at a time. ATi also out performs nVidia for ProApps.)
    SSD as boot drive
    Buy it from Apple or nearby Mac video specialists.

    AND
    FSI Monitor (type depends on what you need - 24" though)
    AJA Kona 3 Card
    Matrox CompressHD Card
    2x Monitors (Dell or similar)
    Final Cut Studio
    Final Cut Server
    Large RAID array for onlining material (16TB or similar would be ideal for full HD)
     
  4. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #4
    Final Cut Pro doesn't use the secondary graphics cards, it's not programmed to take advantage of them.

    Also I know even if you had two cards you can't run the monitors on different cards, they need to be on the same card for FCP to run properly.

    You might wanna investigate this graphics card
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/TW386LL/A
    it certainly has more VRAM
     
  5. tri3limited macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #5
    ATi outperforms the Quadro for all Pro Apps including Motion and Color.
     
  6. Wotan31 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #6
    x2 ATI is what you want for maximum performance.
     
  7. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #7
    I'm surprised to hear that, especially since the raw specs would make it seem so much more powerful.
     
  8. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
  9. tri3limited macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Experience says slightly different but they're much of a muchness... Except for price where the quadro is so much more expensive, which could be spent on other - more useful - bits of kit.
     
  10. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
    x2 any video card in a Mac will prevent Motion, FCP, and Color from operating properly. A single ATi card is the way to go though because the drivers for the ATi cards are much better when it comes to Pro App performance.



    Lethal
     

Share This Page