Best macbook for heat and fan noise

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Tim018, Oct 17, 2014.

1. Tim018 macrumors regular

I'm in the market for a new laptop in the next month or two. I'm a computer programming student in community college right now. Most of the work on the computer will be writing code.

The most important factor to me when considering a computer is heat and fan noise. Which computer in apple's line up can comfortably stay between 40-50c and have the fans silent with a web browser open, itunes going, xcode and parallels/virtualbox running visual studio in windows?

As far as specs go, I'm not too concerned, even the base macbook air with 8gb of ram will work fine for my needs as the main things that get taxed are the ssd and ram. Thanks guys!

Tim

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

All Apple notebooks will perform in a similar fashion when it comes to heat and fan noise. It's completely dependent on the workload you put on a computer and the environment where you're working. More work = more heat = more likelihood of fans spinning faster. It's not the computer specs as much as it is your workload and environment. The SSD and RAM are not primary heat sources.

3. Tim018 thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the quick reply. I understand that it is not the ssd and ram that generate heat.

I suppose the better way to rephrase the question is, which macbook has the best thermal properties?

On my thinkpad (thinkbrick as i like to call it), I can run the entire world, 4 virtual machines and multiple visual studio projects without any noise or heat. The main reason being that it is huge and only has a small i5 dual inside, so it is easy to get rid of the heat. Are there any macbooks that can do the same as I'd like a machine that has osx and has a better display.

4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios