Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

s.brundle

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 6, 2016
Is there a specific Macbook model in particular that you think would be best suited for gaming? I know a dedicated gpu is important but I think there's a few of them out there... any ones in particular that you think stand out? I'm not tech savvy but I'm guessing it's not as simple as just just getting the latest model?

Last edited:

Yuuta

macrumors newbie
Feb 16, 2016
Anything equipped with Intel Iris 6200 or above will do just fine, for casual gaming at least.

throAU

macrumors G3
Feb 13, 2012
Perth, Western Australia
Is there a specific Macbook model in particular that you think would be best suited for gaming? I know a dedicated gpu is important but I think there's a few of them out there... any ones in particular that you think stand out? I'm not tech savvy but I'm guessing it's not as simple as just just getting the latest model?

If you want to do serious gaming you don't want a Macbook. if you must have a macbook you want the best discrete GPU you can afford.

That said, my 2015 13" with Iris 6100 will run Civ5 and similar games OK. Just don't expect to turn details way up and maintain a smooth framerate.

Reactions: spaceballl

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
Well, Macs particularly laptops are probably ill suited for games, but if you want to play them. The best MBP will the dGPU equipped 15" MBP.

s.brundle

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 6, 2016
Yes I suppose 'I must have a Macbook' haha. I don't want a console or a separate PC to game on so I'm prepared to pay the extra to have a Macbook that can sub for those things. There is a few Macbook 15"s with dedicated GPUs... what I'd like to know is which has the best GPU (assuming money is not an issue). Or maybe there other factors that would trump the GPU?

spaceballl

macrumors 68030
Nov 2, 2003
San Francisco, CA