Best method of switching between apps?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by benwiggy, Jul 30, 2013.

1. benwiggy macrumors 68020

I'm wondering if the way I've been using OS X for over 11 years may not be optimal, and I'm considering trying out some new, better methods to do things, if there are any. (Crazy talk, I know...!:p)

I frequently have more than 26 apps open most of the time, and "Command Tabbing" to get the one I want can therefore take 13 key presses. There's the Dock, of course, though I have that on the far right-hand end of my 2nd monitor, which can be many mouse miles away.

I suppose I should get in the habit of using Mission Control, which seems like the obvious candidate, though it can take me an age to find the thing I'm looking for, even with app windows grouped together, which I find more useful than millions of random windows everywhere. (Controversial opinion No. 2!)

But I haven't quite got into the habit, so before I do, Are there any other good ways?

2. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

How about Alfred?

option+space - type first few letters of app and enter

3. benwiggy thread starter macrumors 68020

So, essentially the same as Spotlight? Or indeed LaunchPad. A third-party app seems a little excessive.
    Spotlight won't "find" Finder, however.

4. Zerozal macrumors 6502

How about just clicking on the icon in the dock? That would seem to be the quickest and easiest way.

5. benwiggy thread starter macrumors 68020

As I said, my Dock is on the right hand side of a dual monitor setup, so it's a long way away sometimes.

And why don't I have the Dock at the bottom? Because I do work where I need to look at double page spreads, so the bigger they can be, the better.

Unless anyone's got anything radical, I think I'm just going to have to get in the habit of using Mission Control. It's not bad, but it does require a bit of glancing around to find the app.

6. throAU macrumors 601

throAU

3 finger swipe left/right between full screen