Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kmo19

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 7, 2009
I know there are other monitor threads out there, but I want to ask specifically for my needs. I'm a programmer and I often spend 10-12 hours a day looking at code. I have a mid 2012 Retina MB Pro with NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 1024 MB. I want the best external monitor possible for the main purpose of being easy on my eyes. I currently use a Dell U2412M but I feel like I could do better.

I've read about the new 28-inch 4K dell coming out, but people complain about the 30 Hz refresh rate. Does that matter for me? I don't care about gaming. Like I said I just need something that won't hurt my eyes after staring at it for 50+ hours a week.

Obviously the higher the resolution the better. I am willing to pay for something good. Maybe not $3500 but any reasonable cost.

mikepj

macrumors regular
Nov 2, 2004
I've seen a 30Hz display in action. It feels a lot like controlling a Mac over a VNC connection, where the mouse lags behind you as you move it. If you are just editing code by using the keyboard for navigation, then it might be okay, but you would see a delay as soon as you tried to do anything with the mouse. As a developer myself it would drive me crazy.

I'm not sure, but I think the other new 28" 4K monitors by Asus and Lenovo will do 60Hz and are only $100 more than the Dell. You might want to look into one of those.

a.coward

macrumors regular
Jun 1, 2010
As the previous poster said, you'd get a lot of jerkiness with 30Hz,
especially with the mouse. This can impact cursor accuracy. I tend
to use my mouse as a "guide" when reading code and a jerky cursor
would just drive me nuts.

But, as I understand it, a 4k monitor would not be an option for
you anyway: everything I've read points to the mid 2012 rMBPs
not being able to support 4k (I also own a 2012 rMBP and was