Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sdavis81

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2009
Hi all,

About 4 years ago I bought a ReadyNas Duo as a backup solution for MBP. I don't have a desktop. On this I use the Readynas partition feature so it has half for Time Machine and on the other half I have pictures and video that I don't keep on the computer. So I have storage and backup partitions.

I am SICK of this thing! I am not a networking engineer and don't want to be. About every 3 months I end up speding 3 nights to figure out why the Time Machine backups arent' working any more. There are so many file protocolos and features in the DUO and I don't care about all that. I don't need it to serve or do Bit Torrent or any of the other things.

Does anyone have a suggestion for a NAS that can serve me better? I want to store some things there, do Time Machine backups there, and I would like RAID with 2 drives so if one fails I am OK. I do also have an external that I do a separate TM backup a couple times a year.

Maybe I just need a couple Time Capsules to make it simple, although I don't really need the router features of that.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
Synology is probably the most popular and the most recommended here. Do a search to find the threads discussing this.

I have a Qnap and I'm very happy with that, so I'll recommend that as well.

ColdCase

macrumors 68040
Feb 10, 2008
NH
Synology is probably the easiest general purpose NAS to set up and works well with a mac. Two drive fault tolerant is the default setup, but they have many features (as well as most NAS) that can make it somewhat daunting to set up. So many wrong buttons to push. But most of us amateurs get through it just fine, and its a solid product that you just set and forget.