Best option for online sharing

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by mrjosh, Nov 2, 2011.

1. mrjosh macrumors regular

I'm trying to streamline online sharing of photos. So far, my options seem to be:
    1) Facebook, Flickr - don't want to use this
    2) Picassa - works ok, but a little bit of a pain
    3) Adobe solutions - have no experience with
    4) Via my domain using something like Gallery (btw, I use dreamhost).

Here's my situation, I would like to be able to create online albums - some will be open to public, some I would like to password protect. This is not for commercial purposes (I do not need to accept payment).

I am trying to find the easiest way to upload finished photos, organize ad protect my work.

If hosting on my own domain is the best option (I would have total control), any ideas on what platform to use? I am not a programmer and would like to focus on ease of use so my wife can also upload/share.

If I posted in the wrong section, please let me know, and thanks in advance for your help!

2. guy curlewis macrumors member

3. Consultant macrumors G5

Consultant

How many people will be accessing? Dozens, hundreds, thousands, etc.

For small number a CMS such as wordpress on your own site will work fine.

4. Designer Dale macrumors 68040

Designer Dale

Flickr seems to be the most popular on this forum. Smugmug is well spoken of and several users are happy with 500px. Go through the current Photo of the Day thread and find someone with a link to a 500px gallery. It looks like a Facebook for photographers.

Dale

5. Oberhammer macrumors regular

Photobucket

6. LumbermanSVO macrumors 65816

I use Gallery and upload via a plugin for Aperture. While it doesn't have the features of the sites you listed, it works for me and has just enough tweekability for me to keep using it.

7. mrjosh, Nov 3, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011

mrjosh thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks

Thanks for the responses.