Best options for new 21.5 iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Wonderinwhat, Dec 6, 2012.

1. Wonderinwhat macrumors newbie

Hello everyone,
    This is my first post to the forums here. I am looking to buy the new iMac 2012 21.5", this will be my first Mac computer but I have had an iPhone for a few years and also have an iPad so I am ready to make the switch to a Mac desktop. Since I am fairly new to Mac I have been looking at the base 21" but recently I have given some thought to possibly getting the higher end 21" but I'm not sure if I should upgrade some of the components or just one?

The main purpose for this computer will be for my return to school doing online courses, I also plan to have it for a while as I am upgrading from my 2004 gateway desktop. I'm interested in making some movies from time to time and I also have a lot of pictures so I'm interested in software such as photoshop, along with Microsoft office for school. I'm not entirely sure what else I'll be doing on the new computer but I'd like to have options available if I decide I want to run windows on it as well.

My current computer has become so slow its very irritating and I'd like to prevent that as much as possible which is another reason I'm making the switch. I'm wondering if I should upgrade the processor to the i7, or if the 2.9ghz i5 would be sufficient, if I should upgrade the ram to 16gb or if the 8gb would be ok, and finally if I should upgrade the hard drive to the fusion drive??

Overall I'd love to be able to do it all but the wifey might not like that hefty price tag, if I had to choose to upgrade one component I'm thinking the fusion drive would be best but I really don't know which is why I'm here to ask!

All help is greatly appreciated and please ask for more info if necessary!
    Thanks in advance

2. 184550 Guest

If you're choosing one, I'd recommend upgrading the ram to 16gb. You'll likely see the biggest improvement there.

3. aubergine, Dec 6, 2012