Best place to buy CTO Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by downhill racer, Nov 2, 2010.

1. downhill racer macrumors newbie

I'm an enthusiast photographer progressing towards pro. I've been on the Wintel platform for about 25 years, but my 7 year old Dell (which was a screaming machine when I bought it, and still isn't half-bad for the use my daughter will give it...) is now being routinely brought to its knees by my work.

I've resolved that my next PC will be a Mac, and given my desire for a machine with longevity, a Mac Pro seems the best choice. I like the MP because it gives me the ability to purchase a higher-spec'ed machine in "installments"...add OWC RAM and a couple of 2TB HDD's now, add a (higher capacity) SSD next year, a new GPU 2-3 years from now, maybe even a CPU a few years out. And 4 years from now, when we are all starting to wonder how we filled up those 2TB drives...I'll simply be able to buy one of the new 20TB models!

I'm focused on the 3.2 MHz quad MP...it feels like the $400 (16%) upcharge is worth the 14% CPU speed boost, while the $1200 upcharge for the hexa-core seems too steep for what you get. I'll get base RAM, HDD, video card, etc., and buy all those upgrades over time from OWC, et al.

My trouble is in finding a place to buy this specific CTO model. Amazon and B&H are my preferred vendors - I trust them, and they let me avoid paying 8.5% sales tax (%~$250), as well as shipping. But, they don't seem to carry the CTO model, only the base, which they discount by around $100. The other online places I've looked (eg MacMall), actually charge a higher price for the CPU upgrade than Apple does, bringing their total price back to full MSRP.

Does anyone have any ideas of other reputable places to buy online, where I can get a good price on the CTO model I want?

Or, should I be giving more serious thought to simply buying the base model, or even the 2009 2.66 MHz quad model available for $1900 at B&H?