Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacBH928

macrumors G3
Original poster
May 17, 2008
I am new to this podcast thing, I used the Apple one but its a little bit clunky. What is the best podcast app out there? I don't mind paying 1 time fee/purchase for a good one.

Also, where are they storing all these podcasts? Is there like a single service like YouTube for videos? or each uploads to his own website?

pacorob

macrumors 68020
Apr 8, 2010
the Netherlands
Some good options out there with really nice advanced (filter) features:
- Pocket Casts - 3,99 dollar (once) - with CarPlay, AirPlay, Chromecast and Sonos support
- iCatcher! Podcast Player - 2.99 dollar (once) - with AirPlay support
- Downcast - 2.99 dollar (once) - with CarPlay support, Google Cast ready
- Castro - free, but with in-app (optional Plus: paid subscription available for $18.99/year) - with CarPlay and Apple Watch support

I've tried them all and currently using iCatcher for quite a while but as far as support goes I want to switch to Pocket Casts again but since all my downloaded podcasts are in iCatcher I kept using that. In the past I used Downcast for quite a while as well.

Last edited:

MacBH928

macrumors G3
Original poster
May 17, 2008
Some good options out there with really nice advanced (filter) features:
- Pocket Casts - 3,99 dollar (once) - with CarPlay, AirPlay, Chromecast and Sonos support
- iCatcher! Podcast Player - 2.99 dollar (once) - with AirPlay support
- Downcast - 2.99 dollar (once) - with CarPlay support, Google Cast ready
- Castro - free, but with in-app (optional Plus: paid subscription available for $18.99/year) - with CarPlay and Apple Watch support