Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

not_batman

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 30, 2005
Toronto
Hi
I'll preface this with an apology incase there have recently been any threads about this exact topic. Also for any newbie mistakes that I might make (OMGLOL FIRST POST!)
I am looking into getting a G5, but I have no idea whether or not I should try to stretch my budget to get a dual 2 instead of dual 1.8. I am in my first year of art school and I will be doing a lot of video editing and sound work over the next 4 or 5 years. I have also just learned that I will be working for a family friend over the next few months making a documentary sort of thing. As well as doing fairly intensive video work I will dabble in Maya (hooray for the learning edition!), do a LOT of photoshop/illustrator work, and some web design on the side.
My questions are; will I really miss the pci-x and the ability to expand to 8GB of ram? and if I decide to get it without the superdrive, can I buy a cheap-o dvd-r drive elsewhere and install it some time in the future?

i am either looking at:
• Dual 1.8GHz PowerPC G5
• 256MB DDR400 SDRAM (PC3200) - 2x128
• 80GB Serial ATA - 7200rpm
• ATI Radeon 9600 XT w/128MB DDR SDRAM
• AirPort Extreme Card
• Combo (CD-RW/DVD-ROM)
• Apple Keyboard & Apple Mouse - U.S. English
• Mac OS X - U.S. English
at $2295 (Canadian, with student descount)

or

• Dual 2GHz PowerPC G5
• 512MB DDR400 SDRAM (PC3200) - 2x256
• 160GB Serial ATA - 7200rpm
• NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Ultra w/64MB DDR SDRAM
• Combo (CD-RW/DVD-ROM)
• Apple Keyboard & Apple Mouse - U.S. English
• Mac OS X - U.S. English
at $2745 (also Canadian, also student discount)

Keep in mind I would be upgrading RAM and storage elsewhere and in the case of the dual 2 I would be getting a better vid. card when I could afford it.