Best price for 4GB sticks?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by drunkn, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. drunkn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    #1
  2. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
  3. dexthageek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
  4. ansabakhan macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
  5. drunkn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    #5
  6. dexthageek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #6
    I have not tried it and I don't know anyone else that has. But theoretically it should work. They are both the same pin count (204). However the PC3-10600 will drop speed to match the 1066Mhz speed of the PC3-8500 that came with the 2009. They also have different Latency speeds. PC3-10600 has a CL of 9 and the PC3-8500 CL is 7. You are asking for trouble if you mix RAM with different specs.

    PC3-10600 is more expensive then PC3-8500 and since you can't take advantage of the slight speed increase, why even give it a try. I say just buy the RAM that matches whatever your system came with.
     
  7. ansabakhan macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #7

    thank you for this info..this really helps!
     
  8. aliensporebomb macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
    #8
    Ah

    I ended up getting Patriot branded ram from NewEgg for my 2009 Corei7 27".

    $197 for 8 gigs (two 4 gig sticks).

    I'm at 12 gigs now, working fine. Geekbenches (so far) 9882.
     
  9. EnterTheSwamp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #9
    Will this work with the 2010 iMac? I noticed the speed is 10666 instead of 10600 like most other places recommend for the iMac.
     
  10. drunkn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    #10

    so you kept the original 4gb + new 8gb ? I think I'm going to do that too and use the additional 200ish saved on another set for a intel SSD
     
  11. Danxqz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #11
    OK this is prob'ly a dumb question . . . but . . .

    Tomorrow my base imac i3 arrives. 4 gb RAM with two open slots. Not sure I really need more RAM, but it's relatively cheap for when I do want to work several apps at the same time.

    So: do you always need to add RAM in pairs? If I could, I'd rather buy one add'l 4gb stick instead of two 2gb sticks, so I'd have the option later of buying a second 4gb stick for a total of 12gb.
     
  12. drunkn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    #12
    yeah I'm wondering the same thing, I was going to do 16gb but if I can add just 2 sticks of 4gb to the existing base model with 2x2gb sticks I'll just do that. 12gb is enough :)
     
  13. Danxqz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #13
    Yeah. The general rule has been that you need to install in pairs, but some systems may be different. I've read conflicting information. It may depend on 'dual channel' something. I don't have a clue. :confused:
     
  14. drunkn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    #14
    So if I went the 12gb route, should I reposition the 2 2gb sticks to be in the same channel (I assume right now there's 1 in each channel) and then put the other 2 4gb sticks together?

    I rather the use the 200ish in savings from getting another 8gb pair for a SSD :)
     
  15. texrb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #15
    Did you put the 2 new sticks in the open slots, or did you move the 2 x2gb sticks to the open slots & put the new 4gb sticks in the slots previously occupied by the 2gb sticks? I have read conflicting reports as to where to put the 4gb sticks for best performance. Thanks
     
  16. moneyman118 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #16
    Thats crazy if it matters!
     

Share This Page