Best Recording software for a Mac Mini.

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by Haifisch86, Sep 28, 2011.

1. Haifisch86 macrumors newbie

Haifisch86

Hey everyone,

I am a musician looking to utilize my mac mini for light recording (demo tracks, instrumental guitar, etc.).

I am wondering what the best software to record with on a mac is.

Thanks everyone! I know it's a broad question, but I want all your personal opinions on what works best for you!

2. Fishrrman macrumors G3

"I am wondering what the best software to record with on a mac is."

Did it come with GarageBand pre-installed? If so, give that a try. It's not "the best" (in terms of what "pay for" apps offer), but it's still good (particularly the AU effects).

If you'd like to try something else, my recommendation is "Cubase Essentials" by Steinberg. Quite powerful, GREAT editing features, and relatively easy to learn (when contrasted with something like Apple's own "Logic", which is UN-easy to learn!).

You're going to need an interface to do much tracking. I suggest that you give Echo Audio products a good look-over. I'd recommend the "AudioFire4" interface, a very good box with plenty of inputs and very good mic preamps.

For mics, I've been using CAD products and like them (my favorite is the e300-2 mic), but I've also heard _very nice_ compliments regarding the Shure "KSM" line of large-diaphragm condenser mics. The KSM-32 looks to be a good one, particularly for voice and acoustic instruments.

3. zimv20 macrumors 601

zimv20

yep, most vox i record are through that mic. not always brilliant, but it never sucks.

4. Haifisch86 thread starter macrumors newbie

Haifisch86

Thanks for all the help guys, I really appreciate it!

I went to college for Producing and Audio Engineering, so I've had experience on Pro Tools and Logic.