Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ciaoben

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 10, 2016
Hi, I want to make a little app for mac.

I am a developer, but haven't never done something in the OS X/iOS ecosystem.

I find a lot of courses and books about iOS programming, but I am struggling to find something useful for mac.

Anyone can suggest something to me?

superscape

macrumors 6502a
Feb 12, 2008
East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Hi,

Firstly, if you code in Swift and/or Objective-C then what you learn for iOS will remain true for OS X. Some will argue that Swift is the language of the future and they may be right. You'll find more resources online for Objective-C though, so learning may be easier. So find yourself a good guide to Obj-C or Swift - don't worry too much about whether it's aimed at iOS or OS X. Maybe try:

https://www.raywenderlich.com/category/os-x

What is different between the two is whether you're dealing with Cocoa or Cocoa Touch, which is the UI framework used by OS X and iOS respectively. So don't waste too much time on learning Cocoa Touch if you know for a fact you'll only be doing OS X work, and vice versa.

You might find some of the guides here helpful:

https://www.bignerdranch.com/we-write/

Also, the official docs here:

https://developer.apple.com/library/mac/navigation/

Best of luck!

r.

* Although you can create apps in all sorts of other languages (Python, AppleScript etc), personally I'd stick with Swift or Obj-C unless there's a really compelling reason not to.

ciaoben

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 10, 2016
Hi,