Best secondary screen option?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jakerbreaker, Jun 20, 2011.

1. jakerbreaker macrumors newbie

I just upgraded from my 2007 24 inch imac to a new 27 inch i7 fully loaded imac. I was hoping to use my old 24 inch imac as a secondary screen but apparently it is not possible. Because I just spent over $3,000 on the computer I am also not able to blow another $1,000 on an apple LED Screen (as much as I would like to). I am a professional film producer and editor so I need a good quality screen that shows as realistic colors as possible without blowing the bank account. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am looking for anywhere from 24-27 inch screen in 200-300 dollar range. Thanks.

Jake

2. soco macrumors 68030

soco

Ok, I know you just said all that about not having that many dolla dolla bills (y'all) to spend on the monitor, and I don't want to be "that guy" who goes and suggests the one thing you're avioding... but...

The Cinema display is king. It's really really worth waiting and saving for.

I promise you.

3. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

Badger^2

For $200-300 you just need to buy whatever is out there and probably forget about getting the best you can.

There are so many in that price range and I tell you they nearly all look identical.

Man those SSDs are killing you guys on cost. $2200 for an i7/2GB/1TB. No where near "over $3000".

4. interrobang macrumors 6502

Look for an IPS panel for best color accuracy. Avoid "TN" panels.

NEC has some in your size and price range.

5. nsitaram macrumors newbie

I am in the same position as you. After finding out that the 24" mini-DVI port is only an output port I bought a 23" Dell (1080 resolution) and connected it to my IMAC 27" with a mini-display to HDMI adapter + HDMI to HDMI cable. Works fine! Cost of Dell monitor was $220

6. Macginger macrumors member

Macginger

Dell UltraSharp U2711 - 27"