Best single or dual PCIe slot GPUs ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MIKX, Oct 11, 2018.

  1. MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #1
    I will soon be buying the Highpoint 71010A-1 PCIe adapter but my current Sapphire Dual-X 7970 is a 2.5 slot card so it cover slot 2.
    My now dead HIS 7950 allowed access to most of slot 2 space.

    I'm interested in buying a dual slot card that allows access to slot 2 for the Highpoint.

    Any suggestions ?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    Any reference VEGA (56, 64, FE, WX 9100) or single slot WX 7100 (Polaris).
     
  3. tsialex macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #3
    Use HighPoint on Slot-1 and GPU on Slot-2, use the smallest card in Slot-3, this way you don't starve the GPU of air.

    If you use GPU on 1 and SSD7101A on 2, you will starve your GPU unless is a big one with a blower type cooler.
     
  4. MIKX thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #4
    tsialex

    Yes, good idea. Maybe an R9 280X will allow me to keep all 4 PCIe slots.
     
  5. tsialex macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #5
    With my MSI HD 7870 Twin Frozr and the two models of GTX-680 that I have, it's possible when using the GPU on 2.
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    I think you mean smallest card in slot 4.

    All dual slot wide card will block slot 3 in cMP. And if the GPU is single slot wide, when no need to worry about cooling and can be installed in slot 1 from the very beginning.
     
  7. pepetato macrumors newbie

    pepetato

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    #7
    Hi everyone, I have an RX 580 4gb on my cMP 5.1, it will be better to get another one with 4GB and get dual gpus or I just get another one with 8 gbs? thanks. (2x rx580 4gb or 1 rx580 8gb)
     
  8. bsbeamer macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #8
    What do you need the extra 4GB VRAM for?
    How many monitors are you driving?
    What resolution(s)?
    What Metal/OpenCL/OpenGL applications are you using?
     
  9. pepetato macrumors newbie

    pepetato

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    #9
    I used my mac for CAD rendering (Chief Architect), I don't know if I need the 4 or 8 vram but If I will like better performance on my mac and the rx580 4gb is cheaper then the 8gb
     

Share This Page