Best Trash Emptying Practices?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by adammcd, Sep 26, 2012.

1. adammcd, Sep 26, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2012

adammcd macrumors member

I know many Mac users who make sure to empty their trash every time they place something into it (in many cases motivitated by an OCD-esque can't-stand-to-see-a-full-trash-icon mindset, I think). But is this really necessary?

I'm no trash expert, but I came up with a couple PROs and a couple CONs of (frequently) emptying one's trash. Feel free to add/correct to this list.

(Frequent) Trash-emptying PROs

[Frees up space]:
    If you let you trash get too big, it can take up significant hard drive space (only an issue if you don't have lots of extra hard drive space).

[Good for sensitive data]:
    If you are trashing a file that has sensitive data in it, you probably don't want it hanging around in your trash folder where it is easily recoverable.

(Frequent) Trash-emptying CONs

[Takes extra time & is annoying]:
    Many users move items to the trash and empty the trash in two separate steps. It's possible to trash+empty in one step (in various ways), but then you're at higher risk of accidentally permanently deleted a file.

[It can be nice to have a (recent trash history) archive of trashed items]:
    Gmail encourages users to "archive" most emails instead of "trash" them. I follow this practice, and, sure enough, I sometimes find myself looking back at old emails. Less frequently (but, on occasion), I have found myself looking back through my trash bin and was happy that I hadn't emptied it.

Question for the community: Assuming you have plenty of free hard drive space, could having a large trash negatively affect your computer's performance (in a way that is of significance?).

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios