Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gpspad

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 4, 2014
Since getting my iphone and ipad I have really been enjoying how the apple systems work together. The Yosemite integration coming out looks very cool.

I'm new to the MBA world, and thinking of getting one for travel and to use with my iphone to play with the new Yosemite integration features. Any suggestions on what specs to look for in a used or refurbished MBA that would give me the best value for that?

pgiguere1

macrumors 68020
May 28, 2009
Montreal, Canada
As far as I know all the Yosemite features will work on all Macs that support Yosemite, so there wouldn't be much difference depending on the specific MacBook Air model.

I would personally suggest the 2013 MacBook Air because its battery lasts significantly longer than the 2012 one and that may be useful when traveling.

Here's the base model 13" for $799: http://store.apple.com/us/product/F...e-i5?afid=p231|camref:ikJ9&cid=AOS-US-AFF-PHG

Unfortunately there doesn't appear to be an affordable model with 8GB of RAM in stock but if you get the chance to buy one it might be a good idea for future-proofing.

A higher and higher amount of your RAM gets allocated to graphics every year, and that's likely to continue as Yosemite is introducing fancy new graphical effects like transparency+gaussian blur.

Last edited:

jmazzamj

macrumors regular
Jun 11, 2009
Since getting my iphone and ipad I have really been enjoying how the apple systems work together. The Yosemite integration coming out looks very cool.

I'm new to the MBA world, and thinking of getting one for travel and to use with my iphone to play with the new Yosemite integration features. Any suggestions on what specs to look for in a used or refurbished MBA that would give me the best value for that?