Best video editting software?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bozeefus, Dec 18, 2008.

1. bozeefus macrumors member

Hi there. I am not a mac newbie but i few like one. i have been using OSX for about several months and i like it a lot.

what i'm looking for is some basic video software for mac. it can be freeware or shareware, as long as it is GOOD and does what i am looking for. any recommendations will be considered!

i used imovie and although it's impressive, it takes too long to decode and convert.

all that i am looking for is a software that can take my .avi files from my video camera and allow me to cut portions of the video file so that i can upload to youtube while maintaining sufficient video quality.

i don't need fancy special effects, but quality is important to me.

thanks for the help!

2. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

Have you looked at Final Cut Express?

Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]

3. bozeefus thread starter macrumors member

holy crap, i didn't expect a reply this fast. this site is extremely active!

just some questions. have u used final cut express and how does it compare to imovie in terms of speed when decoding/converting?

4. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

I don't use it, but my daughter does and she loves it

Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]

5. redwarrior macrumors 603

redwarrior

Realize that rendering video is processor intensive, regardless of the program. iMovie works well for me but still takes hours. I also use Final Cut Pro, but it hasn't saved me any time as far as rendering.

6. bozeefus thread starter macrumors member

what i find annoying about imovie is that i have to add the movie to its library which takes awhile to do. do u happen to know a way to just open said file and do editting right away?

7. redwarrior macrumors 603

redwarrior

No, I don't, but give it a little time, someone should be along to help you. Remember, working with video is complicated and detailed; answers can be difficult to come by.