Best VNC client for iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by hanguolaohu, Jun 26, 2010.

  1. hanguolaohu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #1
    What is the best VNC client for the iPad? So far I've heard about iTeleport by Jaadu, Desktop Connect, Mocha, iTap, VNC Viewer. Any advice much appreciated!

    Thanks,
    HL
     
  2. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
  3. hanguolaohu thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #3
    iTeleport

    I've been using iTeleport to control my Mac Pro at work and it's been fantastic. Setup was no brainer, completely painless. I wish Back to my Mac setup was this easy. On wifi the performance is fantastic. On 3G the refresh was doable and certainly being able to have the ability to do this on one's iPhone is pretty amazing. Completely worth $25 as I can use on both iPhone and iPad. Make sure to buy iPhone/iPad compatible version as they sell a version that works with ipad only for the same price but lacks iPhone capability.
     
  4. colmaclean macrumors 68000

    colmaclean

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin
    #4
    Real VNC - universal and doesn't cost the Earth.
     
  5. nixiemaiden macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #5
    I use mocha lite because it is free and suits my needs. I think I have the tight vnc server on my computer. (also free). I couldn't get it to work right with the free version of real vnc.

    Keep in mind other app/client combos you can do a lot more with. I pretty much only use it so I can check the statuses of things I'm downloading from another room.
     
  6. CrAkD macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    I liked jump desktop but then I switched to Mac. And jump doesn't support Mac so I switched to iteleport and I like it alot.
     
  7. latyshev macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
  8. vw195 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    #9
    I also like Real VNC Viewer. Supports AES encryption, and works great with the realvnc installation that I already had.
     
  9. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #10
    I use iTap. It comes in a Mac (iTap VNC) or a Windows (iTap VNC) flavor. That doesn't bother me because I never use Windows. And if I did, I'd simply run a vnc server on Windows to allow me to use the Mac version of iTap to control it.

    For a while I used remotetap but I grew tired of looking at it in 2x mode (it's STILL only available as an iPhone app) so I sprang for iTap.
     
  10. Dsr1205 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #11
    I consider myself pretty good when it comes to tech and it shames me to say this but i use Logmein Ignition. I have a complicated network setup where i wanted to VNC over the internet to two separate computers that shared an ip address because they were both connected to the same port on the router via a router that was in switching mode. They both had the "same" IP so i could not VNC to that IP because there were two computers associated with it. So i threw my hands up in the air and decided to get logmein. If your totally bad with computers but want remote access over the internet any which way, then logmein is your "just works" solution. Its about as responsive as VNC. Just today i used my iPhone 4 over 3G to log into my desktop pc to check the availability of an ipad using best buy's website. I could have done this with safari but i used my logmein because i had it all set up and ready to go. Point is it works over 3G most of the time. Iv had problems where it got super choppy but it might have been me "holding it wrong" or whateverthe****.

    TLDR: Logmein ignition works well with SUPER EASY setup.
     
  11. Moomba macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #12
    I'll +1 for LogMeIn Ignition. It is very simple to setup and works flawlessly. I used to use it on my iPhone, but I'm spoiled now with my 3G iPad and use it on that constantly. In fact I even setup a VM of XP on my server specifically for doing work on my internal network. I can move files around and administer internal servers with the greatest of ease from literally anywhere. I can't recommend it enough.
     
  12. Battlestar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    I agree, LogMeIn has better performance than its' competitors.
     
  13. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    TeamViewer got released yesterday! I've been waiting for this for a long time and finally they have done it for the iPad! :):):):):)
     
  14. Angryipadguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #15
    Jump desktop for sure. Without doubt the most easy to setup ever and works just like having windows on your iPad. I can stream movies and audio like I'm on my pc and it supports as many systems as you have connected. Funny because people see my iPad and are like WTF how did you get windows on your ipad lol.
     
  15. SunnyFL macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #16
    I got desktop coneect and was able to connect through my gmail account and it worked good but I would keep getting logged out so I tried the other option and could connect but could only view what was on the screen and nothing else when I moved the mouse on the iPad it did not move on the desktop. Now when I go back to connect through gmail it will not connect. I should have gone with my first choice and got jump Desktop.


    After further research it looks like you need Windows Pro for Jump Desktop and I do not have that version.
     
  16. Deamos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #17
    Jump Desktop only requires Windows Pro for RDP as with any RDP program. VNC is crossplatform and all versions of Windows as long as you d/l a server program
     
  17. SunnyFL macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #18
    One thing i find with Desktop connect it's very hard to scroll up or down within a window. Maybe i am missing something.
     

Share This Page