Best way to build a website?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by p0intblank, Nov 2, 2008.

1. p0intblank macrumors 68030

I've been building sites for a few years now and I really enjoy it. It's definitely up there in my list of personal interests. However up until now I've only built my sites using Dreamweaver, Squarespace.com and the Gallery 2 script (all separate sites). I want to expand my horizon and learn how to build a content rich site with that Web 2.0 feel to it. A great example of a site would BarackObama.com.

It would have to be flexible and easy to update, as well as have the option of embedding a blog. Like I said, I've done a lot of web design work, but I want to know the best way of handling things. Any help is much appreciated!

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

Well if you learn to hand code, then the possibilities are endless. If you're not wanting to go that route, then I suggest looking into a CMS.

3. TheReef macrumors 68000

TheReef

I hand code everything, offers me greatest control and lets me make exactly what I want. For page content I'll use the open source "Kompozer" for text styling etc and just copy it in.
    Taco Edit, CSS Edit and Cyberduck are mainly my only tools.

Layout is 100% styled Div tags.
    Wordpress embed is as easy as copying in the php and styling the div tags.

I can't say if it's the best way but it works for me.

Although it becomes a pain when doing the whole "make IE compatible" process, that's where Dreamweaver could come in handy.

4. lucidmedia macrumors 6502a

Best is impossible to measure in general terms... it tends to shift with context.

Personally, I no-longer create sites without content management. My CMS of choice is the open-source Drupal.

Drupal + Web standards is a powerful thing.

Drupal also serves as the back end of a few of my flash-based sites as well...

Drupal is powerful, extensible and has a great community...