Best way to check for IE compatibility

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by bld44, Jul 13, 2008.

  1. bld44 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #1
    What's the best way to check for webpage compatibility with IE short of booting in windows or having a windows machine nearby? I've been using IEnetrenderer (website) but its too slow and doesn't work at all for pages that you have to login to. Don't want to have to boot in windows or use another machine -- any other methods out there?

    I really hate IE...
     
  2. InLikeALion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Greener places than I used to live
    #2
    The problem with anything else that "emulates" ie, is just that. It emulates it. You can't really be sure you are viewing it the exact same way the real browser does. Things like browsershots.org are nice, because it uses real virtual machines to do the screen capture. However, they have limited usefulness, because you can't test actual user interaction, with things like javascript, etc...

    All that to say, I think the only way that will really be of use to you it to have a dedicated pc, a windows bootcamp partition, or a vm with windows installed.
     
  3. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    There is IEs4OSX that will let you run IE5/6 without running Windows. It's not wonderful, but lets you interact with pages and not just look at screen shots. It's a little sluggish, but works for me, and it's free.

    If you have a business web site or something professional that you truly need to make sure things are working in IE, then virtualization in the better way to go. For the hobbyist like me though, IEs4OSX does the job.
     
  4. l'homme macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    #4
    Maybe with Opera browser using IE identifier.
     
  5. gehrbox macrumors 65816

    gehrbox

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston,SC
    #5
    Use Parallels or Fusion to run a Windows VM.
     
  6. bld44 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #6
    I don't want to have to boot in windows.

    IEs40SX was just what I was looking for. Thanks for posting that! Its not exact but its pretty close for the more obvious stuff.
     
  7. Hates macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    You don't have to. You just launch IE in a Windows VM and then pause it and put it away when you're finished.
     

Share This Page