Best way to do this?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by SuperMiguel, May 8, 2012.

1. SuperMiguel macrumors 6502

So i have an 2011 27" iMac i7, 16gb of ram, SSD+1TB HD. Which i use for gaming and internet browsing. Also i have a MBA 13' which i use for school... I been using my MBA for my electronics lab (basically programming micro-controllers, and alotttttt of programming) but it is getting old, since its kinda small screen and blah blah.

I need to use Linux for all my programming needs, and been using Parallels with a ubuntu install to do this.

Now my question.

So im thinking about getting a monitor to put it on my desk and attached it to my iMac. If i do this, can i attach another wireless mouse/keyboard to it, and run both machines at the same time? like on one screen Ubuntu and on the other OSX? and assign the mouse and keyboard to that specific OS??

Or im better off getting a cheap computer (Running linux+programming can do on a 486) and attach a monitor to it??

Or even? do they sell docking stations for MBA??? i can prob connect an external monitor to it, and do just that?

2. leman macrumors 604

Alas, no.

But why do you need to do this in the first place? You can happily use a virtual machine and OS X at the same time. For example, put the full-screen Ubuntu onto a second desktop and switch using mission control.

3. talmy macrumors 601

talmy

Alas, yes. (Depending on how you define "yes")

Buy that extra monitor, put it on your iMac. Run Parallels in full screen mode (not "Lion Full Screen" -- uncheck that box in Parallels options) on the external monitor. If you use Spaces (multiple Desktops) assign Parallels to all desktops.

You don't need a KVM switch or additional keyboard or mouse. Just move the mouse and click on the screen you want. Works great. I've been doing this for years.

4. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

does my imac support 2 external monitors? if yes does parallel support dual monitor???

5. talmy macrumors 601

talmy