Best way to install 10.7.2? Upgrade or clean install?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by diegobgr, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. diegobgr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #1
    Hello.

    I have 10.6.8 now.

    I'm going to install 10.7.2.

    What do you recommend me in order to have Lion installed in the better way possible?

    -Clean install 10.7.2 creating a thumb drive
    -Update from 10.6.8
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    I did a clean install from a thumb drive. It was effortless. I prefer always doing clean installs.
     
  3. diegobgr thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #3
    Did you create yourself with the method of the original Lion release?
     
  4. diegobgr thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Anymore answers?

    Thanks!
     
  5. Xenc macrumors 6502a

    Xenc

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Yes. Buy Lion and then put it in a USB stick.
     
  6. adnoh macrumors 6502a

    adnoh

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #6
    I did a clean install also by burning the DMG file to a DVD.
     
  7. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
  8. Rowf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #8
    I did both ways, installed via S/L first and then clean installed later by burning to DVD.

    Installation by S/L was okay but I kept finding bits of Snow Leopard all over the place so I decided on a clean install.
    It was an easy experience and I preferred it.
    Nice to start from scratch with a clean system.
     
  9. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #9
    How did you find bits of 10.6?
     
  10. Rowf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #10
    Duplicate folders.

    Mainly the applications folder, I had the application folder in the dock as well as Launchpad and in Finder I had two separate application folders (that was the bit that worried me) both would launch applications but only the 'Lion' one would update with a new application.
    As I remember, I also had two wallpaper folders in the Library and two Document folders.
    Nothing that was a big deal but I'm a bit ocd on computers, everything in it's place and all that.

    Another reason for the clean install was the experience itself, I hadn't done a fresh install on a mac so it presented an ideal opportunity to learn a bit more.
     
  11. malias4 macrumors 6502

    malias4

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Location:
    Greece and Holland
    #11
    im on this dilema too, im on 10.6.8 since i got my new imac 1 month ago!!
    I already have downloaded lion on my mac and made a copy off it on a blank dvd..
    Now with 10.7.2 and i cloud i think its time to move on, but does it really worth the clean install or?
    Bs the u need more time backing up etc..:confused:
     
  12. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #12
    Depending on where they were, this may be normal behavior. If you did a fresh install of Lion, you will still have 2 applications folders. One on the root directory (this is for all users) and one in your home folder (these applications can only be accessed by your user). If that's what you're talking about, then it was normal.

    I don't know of the 2nd one is always there, I think Steam may have created it on my MacBook. It's supported by the OS, though.
     
  13. Damers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #13
    Were any of these bits classic spaces, windows expose or working dual monitors?

    I have a second applications folder and you're right it's created by steam.
     

Share This Page