Best way to install Bootcamp and VMware

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by joms, May 29, 2010.

1. joms macrumors member

Hi,

I'm a new MAC user and im getting swamped with info. My question is, what is the best way to install Bootcamp? Should i install MAC OSX Snow Leopard first? Or should i install Bootcamp then Windows first? Then MAC OSX?

Sorry i'm really new to this and ive tried reading the sticky but there's no "BEST WAY TO INSTALL BOOTCAMP" even if i google it.

Thanks.

2. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

Well... Do you have a version of OS X already installed?

3. joms thread starter macrumors member

I have the latest MAC OSX 10.6.3 (Snow Leopard) installded. I can always re-install OSX or such.....

4. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

5. joms thread starter macrumors member

Well, i was kind of leaning on experienced users in giving me the "BEST" way to install Bootcamp.... and not just the ordinary method as per the manual.

Much like in Windows, it states that in installing windows, what you just need to do is to insert the disk and straight away install it in the given partition.

However, experience taught me that it would be much better if you create a separate partition to install Windows (like 25GB) and install your documents in another partition. It would be even better if you put your pagefiles and temp files on another physical drive, etc, etc.

This is what i meant by "best way to install bootcamp". There might be some method experienced users do in installing bootcamp in its most efficient way.

Otherwise, i'll just fall back to the standard method.

Any experienced users out there that can give me some tips?

6. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

Yeah, standard install.

Moving documents etc to separate partitions and such is a waste of time. You're not going to spend all day in Windows are you?

7. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member