Best way to install Leopard?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by scrambledwonder, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. scrambledwonder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #1
    Okay, going to upgrade my perfectly stable system to Leopard. Wipe and clean install or upgrade? I'd rather not go through re-installing all my apps (and keychains and all that crap), but I will if it's absolutely necessary.
     
  2. XianPalin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #2
    I initially did an Upgrade, but didn't really like how it kept all my login items, etc. Course I was one of those people that used to reformat a decent amount back in the early XP and Windows 2000 days, so I can go from a clean wipe to fully customized system pretty quickly.

    That being said, if you want to keep everything how it is, just upgrade. Worst case if you're not happy with that, you can wipe and install. Backup before you do anything just in case.

    Also, make sure you install the latest version of APE if you are using it, as I believe older version cause that blue screen error. Or remove it entirely, I forget what the protocol is for it.
     
  3. scrambledwonder thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #3
    APE?
     
  4. amac4me macrumors 65816

    amac4me

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    #5
    I've always preferred to do a fresh installation and just re-install my Apps.
     
  5. iCeFuSiOn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #6
    Id either do an Archive and Install, or an Erase and Install if you've got everything backed up to external media (network share, CDs/DVDs, external hard drive, etc)
     
  6. nemex macrumors regular

    nemex

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Mexico
    #7
    My vote goes to do a clean install (erase and install). I created a bootable backup using Carbon copy cloner just in case. After the clean install I used migration assistant to restore my apps, and preferences. The process was pretty smooth...

    Meke sure to get rid of the app enhancers that can give you some head aches.

    Cheers :apple:
     
  7. blaklaybul macrumors regular

    blaklaybul

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #8
    can you migrate from a Time Machine hard drive?

    Also, how well does Adobe software work in the migration process? Will i Have to reinstall?
     
  8. mvsaradhi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #9
    i would also suggest the clean installation erase and install
     

Share This Page