Best way to Jailbreak 3G running 3.1.3?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by OrangeDog, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. OrangeDog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #1
    Whats the best way for me to Jailbreak a 3G iPhone running 3.1.3 (not worried about tethering) I've used Spirit twice now on fresh JB's and as soon as Cydia has updated and I click on Cydia it loads and then crashes back to the home screen.
     
  2. WhatAmI macrumors 6502a

    WhatAmI

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #2
    Run through this guide
     
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    Redsn0w
     
  4. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #4
    Somewhat related, but I used blackra1n on 3.1.3, and the iphone froze upon completion and now it won't get passed the apple icon, can't even get into DFU at the moment. A little worried as it's not my iPhone

    Is this normal? Can anyone point me in the right direction to remedy it
     
  5. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Redsn0w, I think you can also use something called Snowbreeze but i'm not sure how reliable that is
     
  6. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #6
    The only guides I've found for RedSnow says its for 2G
     
  7. pixelated macrumors 6502a

    pixelated

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #7
    Blackra1n was designed for 3.1.2 so will not work on 3.1.3.
    I would restore and re-jailbreak
    If you have a 3G you can use Pwnage/spirit/redsn0w....redsn0w is recommended.
    3Gs on 3.1.3...Spirit is your only option.
     
  8. caddyshack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    #8
    trouble jailbreaking Iphone 3g

    currently jailbreaking an iphone 3g and the progress bar is full but the illuminated pinwheel keeps going around. Does this mean its still working or is this a problem?
     
  9. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #9
    so restored, jailbroke, and installed ultrasnow, everything works fine, but with the sim in, it says no service.. any ideas?

    aggggh!
     
  10. pixelated macrumors 6502a

    pixelated

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #10
    If you upgraded to stock 3.1.3 you will have the new baseband which cannot be unlocked at present.
    Ultrasn0w unlocks 04.26.08 (FW 3.0)
    Blacksn0w unlocks 05.11.07 (FW 3.1)
    You probably have 05.12.01:eek:
     
  11. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #11
    Oh no!
    Can I put it in DFU mode, and then force back to 3.0 or 3.1 with an unlockable FW?

    I can't find a useful guide anywhere online.. It's driving me crazy, 2Gs are so much easier
     
  12. gescom macrumors regular

    gescom

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    Westerville, OH.
    #12
    Spirit jailbreak ftw. It takes longer to download than to jb your phone. Covers all devices atm so it would be your best bet atm. HTH
     
  13. pixelated macrumors 6502a

    pixelated

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #13
    basebands are not downgraded with the FW so you are stuck atm.
     
  14. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #14
    You could downgrade the baseband on the 2G, is it not possible on the 3G?

    Bootloader Version: 06.04 (G2M3S2)
    Baseband Version: ice2-05.12.01
    iPhone OS: 3.1.3

    So jailbreaking was easy, but no unlock (as of now). I tried Fuzzyband, didn't work.
     

Share This Page