Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Turnpike

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 2, 2011
New York City!
I have a number of very rare, instructional DVD's (VHS as well but the DVD's are what I would tackle first) that were part of either some training program where I taught, or how-to videos on installing custom parts and other company-video types of things. These are NOT major studio releases, and don't have any copy protection on them I don't think. I've been carrying this box of them around for the last 10+ years, is there a way I can put them into say an iTunes account like a song from a CD so that I can play the on my iPad in the 1% chance I'd ever need to in a few years from now? Is there an app, a process, or a way to do this?

Thanks in advance for your help!

*By the way, I'm not opposed to spending $$$ on an app, software, or something else that works especially well. Playing them on an iPad is important.

Last edited:

ColdCase

macrumors 68040
Feb 10, 2008
NH
What he said, works great. If the DVDs turn out to be copy protected, you may need a ripper type program.

Handbrake has a number of presets, I use the apple TV setting and load those files into iTunes. In the iTunes, iTunes Media folder is a folder called "automatically add to iTunes" I just drag and drop the HB converted files there. You can edit the video descriptive info in iTunes, but something like the subler app may be easier/better. Use it before sending them to iTunes.

Reactions: Turnpike

Umbrarian

macrumors member
Oct 12, 2012
Texas
Handbrake + import for the DVDs

The VHS stuff, I use RCA cables and record it to my Camcorder, then import that. Might be a better solution today, as that was a while ago.

essential

macrumors 6502
Apr 8, 2008
I prefer Ripbot but Handbrake is the most common piece of software for your needs, and probably the easiest to use.