Best way to swap a hard drive in MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iamvexed, May 27, 2010.

  1. iamvexed macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #1
    Hi all,

    So I'm finally replacing my PowerBook with a new base model 13" MBP. I've ordered a 640gb Samsung Spinpoint hd to replace the 250 gb stock hd. I've also purchased a Rosewill external to put the stock hd into (all this for less than Apple would have charged to upgrade to a 500gb hd!).

    Here's the issue: what's the best way to swap hard drives?

    1) Put the new one in, and use the recovery discs to install the OS; or

    2) Put the new one in the enclosure, clone the hard drive in the mpb, then swap them; or

    3) Something else.

    Any advice you have would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. AndrewCjDuong macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #2
    I used the time machine and it backed up and placed everything back into its spot.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  4. dsprimal macrumors 6502a

    dsprimal

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
  5. jsm4182 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Beacon, NY
    #5
    #2 is the fastest way and in my experience has always gone very well
     
  6. iamvexed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #6
    Awesome! Thanks for the input, guys!

    So when going with option 2, what's the best way to do that? Format the new hd, and then use migration assistant? Or format it and then use a program like Carbon Copy Cloner?

    Thanks again!
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    You can't clone with Migration Assistant. Just use CCC
     
  8. DHart macrumors 6502

    DHart

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #8
    Definitely #2 if your existing drive has any thing installed on it besides the system.

    I've used Carbon Copy Cloner with perfect results doing this a number of times.
     
  9. iamvexed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #9
    Actually dhart, I'll be unboxing it all at the same time. Would you do it differently in this case?
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    You could just install the OS X from the disk then. It doesn't matter, both are fine
     
  11. iamvexed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #11
    Awesome.

    Thanks so much to all of you for your help!
     
  12. DHart macrumors 6502

    DHart

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #12
    Cloning the disk would probably be a fair bit quicker than a new install from the discs, but either gets the job done just fine.
     
  13. Ampidire macrumors 6502

    Ampidire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    #13
    Yeah but doing a fresh install gives him the option of leaving out all those extra language and printer files and he can even choose to install X11, Rosetta and QT7 at the same time.
     
  14. DHart macrumors 6502

    DHart

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #14
    Good point. I've never bothered to by-pass the extra language and printer stuff as I haven't felt the need. But it's not a bad idea to skip that.
     
  15. cloroxbleach4 macrumors 6502a

    cloroxbleach4

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #15
    I used cloning when switching out my harddrive. Very simple, probably took about 30-45 mins.
     
  16. iamvexed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #16
    Hey all,

    Got my new mbp today, swapped out the hd, used the restore disks to customize the OS X install on the new hd, and everything is up and running swimmingly!

    Thanks again for the input!

    (I freaking love this site!)
     
  17. dsprimal macrumors 6502a

    dsprimal

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #17
    haha i love this site too :) glad you found help bro!
     
  18. ClassicII macrumors 6502

    ClassicII

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #18
    Nice work man you will enjoy it. It seems like your ole powerbook has served you well.
     
  19. tflournoy95 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
  20. iamvexed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #20
    Oh man. The PowerBook has been on its last leg for awhile, so whatever is on it is also on my iMac. Seriously, I'm amazed this thing is still alive. The battery completely puked about six months ago. I think the power management system is dead or needs a battery or something, because whenever the computer goes to sleep, I need to press shift-control-option-power and wait five seconds to press the power button again before it'll boot.

    I'm having a hard time letting this beast go, but I need a laptop that I can actually use like a laptop. Sigh.

    But new MBP! WOOT!
     

Share This Page