Best way to Uninstall FC Studio??

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Mac-key, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. Mac-key macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #1
    What would be the best way to unistall the FC studio suite??

    I get simply dropping it in the trash would be one way - but would that seriously unistall EVERYTHING that has something to do with FC studio???
     
  2. martinX macrumors 6502a

    martinX

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    And then send me the original DVDs. To make sure it really stays uninstalled. :D
     
  3. Mac-key thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #4
  4. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    I've heard of that FCS remove tool from some people... but I heard the *best* way to uninstall is to reinstall OS X... :confused:
    Can anyone comment on this? for my own knowledge
     
  5. Mac-key thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    I've considered this as well... curious to hear more thoughts on the subject.

    Bottom line is I'm switching jobs... both have/will provide me with Final Cut Studio 2... so with the job I'm leaving I need to deactivate the license, and I guess unistall Final Cut Studio 2, then I'll turn right back around and Install Final Cut Studio 2 - except it'll be a different license.

    So in this situation is a full unistall of the orginal FCS2 necessary??
     
  6. -DH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville Tennessee
    #7
    That's the best way IF you need to reinstall FCP. If you just need to remove it, use FCS Remover.

    -DH
     
  7. -DH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville Tennessee
    #8
    I wouldn't think so. You can go to Library/Application Support/ProApps and remove the FCS System ID file. The next time you launch one of the ProApps, it will ask for the serial number. At that point, enter the new serial number.

    -DH
     
  8. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #9
    cool tip and it will save you a few hours :p
     
  9. Mac-key thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #10
    excellent - thank you very much
     
  10. Mac-key thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #11
    -DH, if you are still out there - I failed to mention that I would be going from a regular version of FCS 2 to an academic version of FCS 2. Would I still be able to follow the above directions you gave me?? Or would I need to take a different route - like a complete reinstall?
     
  11. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #12
    If that's all you're intending on doing, just remove the FCS System ID file, re-open FCP and enter the new academic serial number. The ONLY difference between the different versions of FCS (Retail, Academic, Volume License) are the license keys. The software itself is identical in every way.

    So yes, -DH's instructions would still work. :)
     
  12. Mac-key thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #13
    excellent, thank you
     

Share This Page