iPhone Best way to use ATT IPad Sim in Iphone 4

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by spitboy2000, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. spitboy2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #1
    i have an ipad 3g and want to use the sim in an iphone 4 i will buy soon. But lately i hear that ATT is cracking down on some of this sim tomfoolery. does anyone know the best way to do this/have experience doing this successfully?
     
  2. JohnDoe98 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #2
    Activate the SIM in the ipad, then put it into the iphone 4 and change the carrier profile settings. Your are going to need to have the APN name as "broadband" with no password. It works like a charm. There are websites that can configure the carrier profile for you, or alternatively, you can use the iphone configuration utility and make the changes yourself.
     
  3. spitboy2000 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #3
    1.do i need to get a simm adapter, are the simms of diffferent size?
    2. can i get a "replacement" simm and use two att sims at the same time for the price of one acccount?

    thnx!
     
  4. gabriel925fm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    #4


    the sim works fine with no modifications. just update the iphones apn.
     
  5. 3goldens macrumors 68000

    3goldens

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #5
    so exactly what does this do for you? benefits?
    your not paying for att, what about voice calls?
     
  6. musicpenguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    #6
    Can an iPad 3G sim card be used in the iPhone 4 without jailbreaking? - is there a way to update the APN without a JB? - looking at doing this soon to do a $15 a month data only plan on the iPhone and run VOIP apps
     
  7. lokerd macrumors 6502a

    lokerd

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Location:
    Beaumont
    #7
    I bought an ip4 JUST to have a wifi/gps camera. At the time I didn't realize the sim swap option.

    I wish i just got an iphone and be done with it, but I am stuck on sprint for at least two more years.

    Prior to getting the phone, and doing the swap, The phone was going to go in my iPad bag, and tether to the iPad if necessary.

    And my iPad went everywhere...stores, restaurants, theaters, boating, shooting (photos), etc.

    But very gratefully, I found out about the swap. What an amazing work around. I truly hope that this continues to work.

    My iPhone (I call it iPad Jr) is now my handheld walk around computer. I still take my iPad most places, but not so much into stores, etc, and it just makes more sense.

    The only downside is my fingers hurt from using the iPhone...so this past week, I have been back more on the iPad when I have a choice.
     
  8. JohnDoe98 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #8
    Yes you can update the APN without a jb.
     
  9. swizard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #9
    iPad 2 SIM into iPhone 3GS

    I am considering buying an iPad 2 3G/WiFi very soon. And I will be travelling in the USA for a month or two. For use during that time, I was wondering if I can buy the iPad, activate it's data plan, and then use a micro->normal SIM tray and use the iPad SIM on my iPhone 3GS for purely data purposes only. I understand there will be no voice services.

    Can someone please confirm it or deny it's possibility? And if it's possible, how can I go about making this happen. I have read things about changing APNs or something. I also read that it apparently doesn't work any more or something. I don't know for sure what the current status of this is nor how to do it.

    Of course I want to do this with no penalties fees etc. I have read of individuals using their iPhone 4 data plan on a iPad, but then when they put their iPhone SIM back into their iPhone they get a notification from AT&T, saying they need to buy a plan, and then they get charged, etc. But in my situation it's iPad to iPhone so can there still be trouble with AT&T?

    Please help me out, as I will be arriving in USA very shortly.

    Thank you!
     
  10. dataonly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    #10
    Can anyone post a step by step tutorial or a link to a website that explains this thoroughly? I want to purchase an iphone and a ipad 3G sim only (without the ipad) and insert it into the iphone for data use only. I have voip programs will only use the data feature.

    Also can anyone confirm or deny if AT&T is voiding the ipad sim when it is inserted in the iphone?
     
  11. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #11
    APN should be the same!
     
  12. dataonly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
  13. Takenlife macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    #13
    Bump for this
     
  14. justinjas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #14
    FWIW, I tried this today. It works on the iPhone 5 but LTE didn't work. This was coming from an AT&T iPad 3 where I'd have 4 bars of LTE to the phone where I'd only be on "4G". Confirmed with speed tests that I wasn't seeing LTE speeds.
     
  15. Takenlife macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    #15
    Did you get an email that said don't switch sim cards by any chance? Was the same location? Can you test with other locations as well to verify that?

    We also need someone with a Verizon iPad trimmed down to Nano to iPhone 5 VZ / AT&T. I hopefully we can a response fast as justinjas. Thanks!
     

Share This Page