Best web browser for 10.3.9 Panther(G3)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MacCubed, May 13, 2015.

  1. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    So today the hard drive in my G4 crashed, so I took the one from my G3. Then I put the original drive back in it. Since TenFourFox won't work on Panther what is the best web browser?
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Your best bets would probably be either iCab or OmniWeb.

    My go to would be Opera 10.10, but it just doesn't have the capacity to render the sites I use and I miss out on features.
     
  3. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Ok , what I need it for is real light browsing and MacRumors;)
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Well, any of those three could handle that.

    You could probably even find a copy of Firefox 1 or 2 I'd think if you want to stay Mozilla.

    Alternatively, there is SeaMonkey. Netscape and Navigator should also work. And there is also just plain Mozilla (yes, Mozilla once had their own browser named Mozilla).

    The stock Safari should also do fine as well.

    Edit. Camino too.

    There were a bazillion options on 10.3. Only a handful made it past that OS.
     
  5. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    I'm using an old build of Firefox and I used to use Safari, but pages wouldn't load right and I want a browser that will load most of the stuff there. Might try Camino
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    iCab is a reasonable choice.
    Just scroll down to a version that supports 10.3.9 - there's at least two generations of iCab that support Panther.

    You can try Firefox, but you would need version 2 for Panther.
    Last version Firefox for Panther would be v. 2.0.0.20

    Or, you could simplify the choices by updating your G3 to Tiger. :D
     
  7. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
  8. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    Thanks for the replies, I think I'm gonna go with iCab, seems to be the best out of the ones I have tried. If only TFF supported Panther
     
  9. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #9
    Why not upgrade to 10.4? If it's already running 10.3, Xpostfacto should get you there. Of course, if it has built in Firewire, you don't even need Xpostfacto.
     
  10. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    I would upgrade, but my 30 gb and 100 gb IDE drives crashed which only leaves me with 4 gb IDE drives. They are the original ones and Tiger requires 3 gb of space rendering the drives practically useless. I could use a USB as storage, but thanks to USB 1 it would be terribly slow
     
  11. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
  12. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #12
    Deselect printers and languages when installing. Uninstall iMovie and other stock apps you won't need by dragging their app files and app support files to the trash. You won't need anything like 3GB to install Tiger.
     
  13. tevion5, May 14, 2015
    Last edited: May 14, 2015

    tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    I recently installed 10.3.9 on my tray-loader iMac G3 333MHz. It only has 192MB of RAM, so I wasn't expecting it to work well at all. But in spite of this it handles quite reasonably. It only gets slow when it has to do more than one thing at a time.

    I found stock Safari to be less than ideal formatting and compatibility wise, so I tried iCab too.

    Long story short, for the most part, neither has a significant advantage over the other based on my own experience. If you are just doing light browsing such as surfing these forums, then they will both suffice aptly. Anything heavier, and you are going to need TFF and Tiger.

    I also need more RAM for my iMac G3...but not before I pointlessly max out my 8600 to 1GB!

    ----------

    Aye, while installing Panther, I was shocked to find out how much room I could save on my iMac G3's tiny 6GB drive by simply deselecting all the languages, that Apple optimistically assumes I can make use of. I was very hesitant to put any version of OS X on such a small drive, but I was pleasantly surprised. Not that a bit more room would be nice...

    I actually have a bunch of 40GB IDE drives my Computer Science department threw out from old Dell's. Might try putting one of those in instead this summer. I've put it off because opening and accessing the insides of those G3's is a tedious job.
     
  14. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #14
    6gb is tons of space at least for early versions of OS X.

    The beige G3s normally shipped with 4gb drives stock, and those handled up through 10.2.8 just fine. Of course, I've replaced all of mine with larger drives for my own sanity(those old WD Caviars are loud and slow) but are fine. Even then, you are limited to installing OS X in the first 8gb(or really a little over 7gb) of the drive.

    One of my B&Ws has the OEM 12gb Quantum Fireball which had no issues with 10.4. The sound of a Fireball spinning up and accessing brings back enough fond memories for me that I've left it :) . No other drive sounds like a Fireball.
     
  15. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #15
    Dont forget to use Monolingual to remove the other hidden languages that are installed by default, also keyboard layouts, and maybe some wrong architectures.
     
  16. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #16
    I have one of those from my old TiVo lol

    I'm debating on whether to install Tiger, there are a few issues:

    1: The CD drive broke so I have a Floppy in it
    2: The hard drive crunches and grinds so much, I dont think it would make it through install
    3: Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think USB booting works on PBG3's
     
  17. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #17
    Worked for me on my Pismo. Have not tried on my Lombard but that is more like an OWR G3, although it is strictly speaking a NWR Mac.
     
  18. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #18
    I think that USB booting was introduced with the Sawtooth G4-at least contemporary articles made a big deal out of.

    I suspect that all the NWR computers which were updated after the Sawtooth came out in late August of '99 could do it, although I wouldn't swear to it. I'm pretty sure I've booted my iMac G3(either early or mid 2001-I couldn't swear which) off USB. I'm not surprised that a Pismo(early 2000) can, but would be surprised if a Lombard(May '99) could.

    I find it interesting that there's a lot of prevailing internet "wisdom" that PPC Macs can't boot off USB. On the majority of Powermac G4s and Powerbook G4s that have USB 1.1(Yikes! excepted), it's even easy as you can select the USB disk from boot manager on startup. This was an advertised feature, although admittedly it's very slow(~15 minutes to a useable desktop from an external USB drive with Leopard installed on my TiBook). Even though the feature was there, I think it was as much to make you crave Firewire(an Apple technology) for booting. :) . USB 2.0 PPC Macs can-as we all know-be booted from OF without too much trouble. We can theorize all we want, but I suspect the removal of this feature in USB 2.0 Macs was to-again-steer people toward Firewire externals.
     
  19. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #19
    The B&W G3 is the least flexible Mac in that respect. No USB or FW booting although both are on board. If your optical drive fails, then you are left with whatever drive you have attached to the IDE ports or supported SCSI cards to boot from.

    I suspect the Lombard is the equivalent in notebook form. I was very surprised how much more closely it resembled my Wallstreets rather than my Pismos. Clearly a transition model.
     
  20. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #20
    Yeah I have a Lombard, I'm not too sure about USB booting, but I can put the HDD in my G4 and install from there.
     
  21. HACKATECH/on Youtube macrumors newbie

    HACKATECH/on Youtube

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    #21
    --- Post Merged, May 14, 2017 ---
    Hi I've got an IMac G3 with the same problem, but I can't open the file. Thanks
     
  22. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #22
    Lots has changed with Dropbox since then. Give me a while and I'll zip these back up and post them again.
     
  23. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #24
  24. z970mp macrumors 6502

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    Location:
    Good Ol' US Of A
    #25
    I would also suggest a processor-optimized build of Camino for Panther. Last I checked (probably somewhere around May '16 or something), Panther Camino ACTUALLY ran YouTube pretty well. Learn something new every day!

    But both are still great browsers and are my internet taxis of choice for 10.3.
     

Share This Page