Best Windows for me.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Intranquill, May 10, 2011.

1. Intranquill macrumors newbie

I saw a thread, just below this one, that said the cheapest (albeit not most legal method) would be to get the 30 dollar student upgrade kit, and do a few steps and there you are. But I've had bad experiences with non genuine Windows before, so I'd really rather not go down that path to avoid ANY issues what so ever. So my friends, that leaves me here...with my Home Premium.

I believe it is the cheapest full OS solution for Windows, and the ONLY thing I would use it for would be to switch over via bootcamp and play some games.

Are there any better versions that would be more rounded for that cause? Or does any version play games the same (minus the 32 64bit version thing). Which brings me to my next question, would 64bit be the way to go? According to the box, it has both on the disc.

Clearly I'm new to Macs with my new Macbook Pro 15 inch. I'm rather familiar with Windows, but when I add the bootcamp aspect of things, I start to get weary of what exactly I should be doing.

I greatly appreciate any insight. I just don't want to ruin my new beauty.

2. AngkorDeNNiS macrumors newbie

AngkorDeNNiS

I think 64-Bit would definitely be the way to go. :) Home-Premium is also okay too I guess. I've always used Ultimate or Professional though on almost every Windows PC I've had. Not much of a noticeable different though other than simple additions here and there. Also, if you're just considering to use it on your Mac for some gaming here and there, Home-Premium would definitely be fine with that. Unless you plan on using Windows like "a-lot a-lot", then just stick with Home-Premium. Hope I've helped.

3. tmagman macrumors 6502

i also say 64 bit. I haven't had any compatibility issues with 32 bit games or any other software while running it. Also remember the 4GB memory wall with 32 bit...