Best Wireless Router

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by photogpab, Apr 20, 2013.

  1. photogpab macrumors 6502

    photogpab

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #1
    Moved into a house recently (used to be in an apartment) and my Airport Extreme isnt performing as well anymore. I have my office upstairs and i guess the signal is having a hard time traveling but i'm only getting about 5 to 6mbps download speeds. if i carry my iMac downstairs I get 25mbps +

    any advice? is it my airport extreme? is there a newer better router that has better range? any advice is much appreciated.

    bought my airport extreme a little over 2 years ago.
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    Try switching channels and/or change from 2.4 GHz to 5 GHz.
     
  3. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #3
  4. tengtengvn macrumors member

    tengtengvn

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    #4
    I only buy router with real external antenna. Upgraded my home router ASUS RT-AC66U with 3x 9dbi antenna. The coverage and speed is awesome.
    The old router was a RT-N16 with DD-WRT.
     
  5. innerdude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    #5
    The Netgear WNDR-3700 is pretty stable and reliable, has file/printer sharing, etc...picked it up on a special at Best Buy for $60
     
  6. opinio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    #6
    Add an airport express to the extreme to extend the coverage.
     
  7. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #7
    Two years isn't extremely old, but wireless routers do lose some "power" over time. Also, wireless signal is affected by a home's particular construction. You've got two variables in the equation.

    Like others have said, you may need some equipment to extend the range. Hard to know if that's the answer of if a new router is in order...or both. If you decide to get a new router, you could try using your existing AE to extend the network if it seems necessary.
     
  8. jwhite4304 macrumors member

    jwhite4304

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    High Point NC
    #8
    I second the addition of an airport express to give more coverage. I added one and the difference is very noticeable in previous dead areas or slow coverage.
    Jimbo
     
  9. crispytreat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #9
    I second that. I have an extreme/express combo and it gives me full coverage.
     
  10. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #10
    :confused:
    Link to where they that is proven!
     
  11. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #11
    Possibly. Could also just be the construction and/or layout of your home. Whenever you're moving into a larger home you can't just assume that the same WiFi network will work equally as well as it did in the previous place.
     
  12. photogpab thread starter macrumors 6502

    photogpab

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #12
    looked up the airport express on apple.com and its $99?

    i thought they were small devices that plugged into the wall and looked like charges and were about $60?
     
  13. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #13
    That's correct. The new one looks like this.

    [​IMG]

    You can get a refurb from Apple for $85.

    You are thinking of the previous generation model. Looks like this.

    [​IMG]

    The previous gen. is still available as a refurb for $69. I prefer this (old) version for travel.
     
  14. Abazigal macrumors 604

    Abazigal

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    I am personally using an asus nt r56u router, which had a pretty impressive range.

    Alternately, use home plugs to channel Ethernet to your study room?
     
  15. DesertEagle macrumors 6502a

    DesertEagle

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Location:
    /home @ 127.0.0.1
    #15
    I'm very satisfied with my Netgear N900. Fast and reliable. I have never owned a wireless router from Apple.
     
  16. mlody macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Location:
    Windy City
    #16
    As I am converting to Apple world, I wanted to switch from using my Netgear WNDR3700v2 (running netgear genie firmware) to AirPort Extreme, just so I could use one of my external HDDs for Time Machine backups as my Netgear does not support that; however, after going through two different AirPort Extreme routers I gave up and went back to using my 2 years old Netgear.

    For some reasons, I could not get the 2.4 Ghz radio to work reliably. I could be right in the front of APE and my speeds wouldn't go above 8-10 mbps without chocking or timing out - tried manually switching channels, but nothing really helped. My Netgear on the other hand maxes out at 2.4 Ghz constantly delivering 32-34Mbps - huge difference.

    The 5Ghz was also far from stellar, although the APE would usually give me 48-49 Mbps, my Netgear typically was in 54-55Mbps range outperforming APE by small margin.

    I really like the simplicity of APE; however, I could not accept the fact that for close to $200 I was getting a very mediocre, almost non functioning device - very sad about it.

    I will revisit the APE subject when the new models supporting AC standards show up, but at this point, I decided to spend $35 instead of close to $200 and got myself a twelve south backpack for my iMac and I do my Time Machine to my HDD directly attached to my iMac.
     

Share This Page