Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ptruong31

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 24, 2011
I'm currently a college student in need a new laptop, I need something lighter and with much better battery life.

Currently I'm debating if I should just drive down to the apple store, and get the low end 13" mbp for 100 off. But, I hate driving down there because its located in Pasadena California and there is always MASSIVE traffic there, with nowhere to park.

Which is why I'm thinking about going to the closest Best Buy store and getting the 18month financing plan compared to apples 12month financing plan.

What do you guys think?

1BadMac

macrumors 6502
Jan 27, 2010
I just asked the department manager at our local Best Buy to price match the education discount and showed him my long since expired ID. Since I'm in there just about every other week buying stuff, he took care of me.

It can't hurt to ask. Most BB's have stopped matching the education discount.

namtaB

macrumors regular
Feb 22, 2011
I wouldn't finance a laptop. Heck, I wouldn't even finance a car but most people do b/c personal transportation is almost a requirement in our society. If an apple is costly enough for you to finance one, why not just get something within your budget instead?

braindead5400

macrumors regular
Jul 25, 2010
Wisconsin
I wouldn't finance a laptop. Heck, I wouldn't even finance a car but most people do b/c personal transportation is almost a requirement in our society. If an apple is costly enough for you to finance one, why not just get something within your budget instead?

People finance computers all the time even by just putting them on their credit cards. It's not a bad idea if you don't end up paying tons of interest on it (and they're responsible)

Doc750

macrumors 6502a
Aug 11, 2010